Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-03-03

The things best loved...

My guest book is working! Yaaay!!! So tell me what you've got to say!

---------------------

I'm in a better mood today. I took John out for a walk yesterday and he's mostly recovered from his bronchitis. He doesn't walk when we go walking, he gallops. That's good, because it means that I will get a good workout. I could feel the burn on my thighs, and now my feet (the day after).

--------------------

The snow has completely melted in Metro Detroit and the temps. this week average to 50. They say that it is a teaser, but I'm so grateful that it is looking more like spring. I was hoping to get out and cross-country ski, as Jimbo, John's buddy, got me into that. Jimbo and I have the same shoe size so it means that I can use his spare skiis.

I've been telling myself that I was going to get myself a pair of skis when I get my full-time job. Yup, I still will, but it will be X-Country instead.

------------------------

I still have those new ice skates and I keep them in the trunk of my car so I can whip them out if I see a nice body of frozen water. But it got me thinking, a little more...

The skates are being advertised by Jamie Sale and David Pelletier, the Canadian Olympic ice skaters. The box had a big photo of them faded in the background, then a picture of them skating together. (Darn, why didn't they include a nice 5x7???). I really enjoyed watching them on the ice. They are a young, beautiful couple. They don't look perfect, they just look beautiful in their natural state. It made me remember what it was like to admire people...

...when I was 8 years old, I admired Brooke Shields, (circa 1980). She was a brunette (like me), well-spoken, and had a girl-next-door glamour to her. I remember that my mom got me a YM Magazine (previous known as "Young Miss") because it had a big article on Brooke and she knew I liked her.

...I loved watching ice skaters on TV when I was a kid. I also loved watching gymnastics. I'd tumble around the lawn and teach my siblings how to do that (hahah, one day I got them all dressed up in leotards and we had a little show in the living room... it was funny!). I loved the beauty of the music, dance, and performance, all mixed together. Both sports are very much athletic like track and wrestling, but just a different kind. It was also beautiful.

Yeah, my mom would sometimes get me books or magazines with my favorite things. Gees, I was definitely "her" kid, never mind me not having my own father around. She was just able to see what I like, relate to it, and find stuff to feed my likings.

I suppose a little fairy tale presence isn't a bad thing, either. I loved Alice in Wonderland and watched it every chance I could get. I watched various interpretations of it, including a stage play. I was disturbed that her spiral into the fantasy land was shown as her on her belly, pretending to whirl around in it, while all I could see was a cloth of a big spiral waving around, and she was in the center. Hahah, but I loved that, and Snow White...

Someone told me to remember the things that made me happy as a child. Those ice skates reminded me of them. These things didn't simply entertain me and make me happy. They were things I was able to share with others (like the gymnastics and my lessons with my sisters)... They also were things I was able to do in my own time (ice skating)... Hmmm, I eventually got into my own writing and making my own tales...

Aaaah, the things that are best loved are the things that just bring the best out of us...

downwind | upstream