Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-03-25

Stage Debut

I haven't been able to talk much with my buddy Steve since I moved to the Detroit area 2-1/2 years ago, but I was considering e-mailing him this message:

-----------------------

Dearest Steve:

Remember our long talks? Remember those times I'd go to your house while Maggs (your missus) worked the graveyard shift and I'd come over and keep you company? Yeah, that summer was crappy for me, being that it was right after the godawful internship-from-hell, but you were great company and we had so many laughs. We talked a lot when we'd play cards on Wednesday nights, but then we talked even more on random summer nights, drinking gin, acting obnoxious, and listening to your old Jimmy Cliff LPs on your back porch. Ahhh, your company was so therapeutic and my woes felt bearable. I figured so much out from our talks, even if at the time they seemed pointless...

I remembered one of our pointless conversations where I was talking about my crazy dreams or things I'd love to try or do in my life. Since my attempt to stabilize my life with a college education and career fell apart, I thought maybe I was meant to be a gypsy. My major dreams and goals fell apart after an internship, so I said, "why don't I try to do the wacky things I never allowed myself to do? I'm free to do that now, aren't I?"

You asked what that those things might be. The first thing I said was that I'd love to try out and make the cast of Second City. I could do comedy writing and stand-up. After all, with all the weird things that had happened in my life and with my family, I have plenty of fodder. I can act out all my anger, fears, and joys on the stage and make people laugh. You half-smiled, but I didn't know what that meant.

Well, Steve, I wanted to let you know that I finally did it, I played with Second City last night! My guy and I went to watch their current revue, and at one point they asked for a member of the audience to participate in a skit. I instantly wanted to, and John nudged me to go for it. The comedienne picked me, and voila! I had a part in a Second City skit!

Well Steve, it's getting kind of late. I can't stay up as late as I used to (can't drink like I used to, either), and I'm tired from an unusually rough day at the univ.lib. I will tell you more about my stage debut with the Second City, but I say this now: it was a dream come true!

downwind | upstream