Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-06

Cool librarian trick

Use Old Farmer's Almanac to estimate weather for special occassions. A lady came into the pub.lib today and asked for our copy so she can see what the weather may be like for her wedding day.

"It says rainy and warm," she said surly.

Sorry lady, I thought. I may be a service provider, but even I can't stop the rain.

"How accurate is this?"

"Let's see," I scanned the book's contents, "the introduction explains how it generates these estimates, and here is says they are about 80% accurate."

With that in mind, I checked the almanac for the weeks I wanted to go to Florida. It said RAIN! PISSING DOWN WITH RAIN! Agggh!! I'm going to have to pick a different date!

Now I know how that lady feels. And right, even I can't stop the rain.

downwind | upstream