Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-09

Inside myself

I have totally ripped this idea off Narami. Alright, not "totally". The contents of this list will be a tad bit different than hers.

Another thought: isn't imitation the most sincere form of flattery?

There's that, and then I need something to pull me out of this job search sorrow. I just put in my application to that job that seemed to require skills in modern, dead, and computer languages. (Agh, heart attack). Last night, I was hissing bitter verbs at my pub.lib job. I'm applying for vacation time and they make it difficult as differential equations for figuring all that crap out, and, and---

See, I told you. I need to get out of my pain a little. I need to remember who I am, what I am made of, what is inside and not the pain I feel from---

Okay, here it goes. (Inner voice, behave!!!)

1. I am a Virgo

2. My hair is black but sometimes lightens to a molasses brown from sunlight

3. I moved alot

4. I was born & raised in the midwest U.S.

5. In my hometown region, we swim in everything: ponds, creeks, rivers, swamps, freshwater lakes, other people's swimming pools.

6. See, freshwater bodies are plentiful here, though we are not in Minnesota.

7. I learned that not all geographic regions share this distinction.

8. I think that is very sad, not to mencion frustrating.

9. I'd never swim in 99% of the bodies of water in southeast Michigan. Yuck, too polluted!!

10. I live in southeast Michigan.

11. I was raised around my mother's family.

12. My mother reminds people of Disney's version of Pochahontas, but a with few pounds more.

12. Meanwhile, my father looked like Carlos Santana. For real, you'd be amazed.

13. My mom is "puro" Mexican American.

14. But I still call myself Puerto Rican.

15. I knew I was Puerto Rican way before I knew I had Mex-Am. blood.

16. My mother and her family always called me "The Little Puerto Rican" when I was a kid.

17. It wasn't an insult, either! It was a nickname!

18. It was what made me distinct from them! ("Distinct," what a great word!)

19. Half my family is in the midwest, and the other half is in Texas.

20. My father's family is half in the midwest, half in Florida, and a sliver in Puerto Rico.

21. I rarely see my family.

22. I have very few friends but they are very close.

23. I am warm but with some reservation when I meet people for the first time.

24. Once people get to know me, many of them really start to love me.

25. But by the time that happens, I'm off to another job, city, or place.

Sort of like now.

Peace.

downwind | upstream