Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-16

Alumni, baby

After yesterday's rant about the evaluation, I went home to a pile of mail. It was mostly flyers and junk addressed to "Resident", but when I sifted through it, I got something from my library and information science school. Since I'm now officially alumni, I get loads of mail about activities and fundraising around the university. I still opened the letter; my name and address were directly printed on the envelope by a laser printer rather than an address label.

"Dear Ms. Gi, You are cordially invited to become initiated in Betta Nu, the national library and information science honor society. The ceremony will be held May 6, 2004. Please RSVP."

Huh? Member of a fraternal organization? Meeeee????? I read the pamphlet that came with the letter:

"Initiates of the program must achieve the following: 3.75 GPA or better in their graduate studies (check), be in the top 25% of their class (didn't know I was, but okay), have notable achievements in the library profession (didn't know I had it, but when I think back to what I've done so far, alright), and be recommended by a current member (I wonder who that was)."

That was pretty cool. I'll take the honor because it will be a nice feather in my cap. I don't think it will bring me fame or fortune, but it will be a nice distinction.

I told John and he was excited.

"Can members of your fan club attend the ceremony?" he asked.

I laughed. "Sure, being that you are one of the presidents of the Michigan chapter."

"One of them?" he inquired.

"Yeah, my niece Khadijah is the other one," and we both laughed.

I also received the diploma from the Registrar's Office. I've known since December that "Master of Library and Information Science" is on my academic transcript, but it was taking forever to get the diploma.

Wow, I'm certainly going to frame that sucker! I got exactly what I came for at Ghetto State University and so much more. My instructors were so friendly and actually knew my name; I could call a lot of them by their first name. My classmates were supportive (unlike the Teacher College, known as The W(h)inery, or better yet, The Bitchery). I got an assistantship that paid my tuition, provided a stipend, and gave me valuable experience while in school. My classmates were from all types of backgrounds and that made me feel comfortable. Agh, it was just a redeeming experience! And who the hell goes to Detroit for redemption?

I never framed the undergraduate diplomas I got from University of the Rust Belt State, mainly because they gave me such a hard time to get the damn things. I was mentally exhausted at the end of it to be glad. It comforting, however, to know they torture everyone equally; everyone's glad to have survived the labyrinth of red tape, and those university bastards wonder why they don't have an alumni base as strong as their rival, Roadkill State. As a form of protest, I refuse to decorate anything with the symbols of my alma mater because I don't want my personal property to be free advertisng for them! I just put it down where it counts: my resume, job applications, and occasional boasting.

So after everything is said and done, I've earned my education. I'm still young, but at least I'm not completely wet behind the ears and uneducated. Yes-yes... I'm able to get what I set out to do, and that's what means the most to me.

downwind | upstream