Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-20

Lazy evening, right?

Last night I was pretending to be my sis Rosepetal: annoying with anything electronic. One night when she was still living with my mom, she was playing one of her pop songs at fast-dub speed and it sounded like The Chipmunks. While Mom and I were talking on the phone, I heard her bouncing around, giggling, and playing her music at fast-forward speed.

My honey John surprised me with a visit yesterday. I thought he had to take his kid to her practices and lessons, so I thought I'd have a full evening to myself. No work, no commitments. I dressed in my ratty t-shirt and shorts, plunked myself on my couch, ate leftovers from the other night, and watched The Simpsons. Ahhhh, lazy evening, right?

Wrong. The phone rang. Ugh, I didn't want to answer it because I knew it was him, and I knew he wanted to come over so we could finish work on one of this client's bankruptcies. (Sighed) I answered the phone anyway.

So, I slaved away on the bankruptcy. It made me stir crazy because so much was at stake for the client. After he files for bankruptcy, he plans to sell some property, blah-blah-blah, and then use that money to pay off his debts, but dammit, it needs to be done correctly or he can get the property taken away, yada-yada-yada... The court required us to complete 20 pages of forms with little else on them but amounts of how much money he owes, the addresses of who he owes, and stuff like that. John wasn't lashing out about any of this, but just told me about this client's plans. The forms were also getting on my last nerve. I hadn't done bankruptcies in a long time and not in this court district. I was afraid I'd mess something up.

There were those considerations, and my bad feelings about my career lately that made me so crabby about doing this bankruptcy. I realized I wasn't up for any moonlighting or side jobs when I was in the middle of this bankruptcy.

At the finishing stretch, I pulled my sis Rosepetal move. I opened some CDs I just got from BMG and proceeded to play my favorite songs on the CD player. Poor John saw an ugly side: my inner DJ in a very bad mood. Here is the playlist:

CD #1: Counting Crows: Big Yellow Taxi, Mr. Jones and Me, Big Yellow Taxi again

CD #2: The Clash (Super Black Market Clash): 1977, This is Radio Clash, Gates of the West, Radio Clash again.

I especially pressed on the Radio Clash. That is such a cool song! It's punk-rap-funk all in one! You're not sure whether to break dance, disco dance, or slam dance to that song.

I just needed a release from it all, I needed something to relieve the headache I was feeling everywhere.

I eventually got to normal. BMG also sent me a CD by Bernie Williams (yes, the center fielder for the NY Yankees). He plays a mean Latin jazz guitar. The music was sane, and John was relieved. He wasn't relieved enough to spend the night. He decided to sit this one out. That was a good decision.

downwind | upstream