Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-11-03

Noviembre

I called my mom yesterday morning, and I was surprised to hear this:

"I'm going to the polls probably around noon," said Mom. "That's when Rosepetal (my 18-year old sister) should be ready."

"Rosepetal's registered to vote?" I asked.

"Yes, she registered when she got her driving permit. We'll be voting at the same place, and she wanted me to pick her up on the way there."

I was in awe. Rosepetal!! She was the one I least expected to vote, but she told Mom she wanted to. I'm so proud of her! The 18-25 year old demographic don't have a good turnout, but she went!

Meanwhile, brother Debo and sis Big Momma didn't. I wasn't too surprised with Debo, but Big Mom said she was too busy.

It was at least comforting to know my candidate narrowly won Michigan, and the most of the others I voted for won.

------------------

Nobody in the univ.lib office is talking about the elections, and the vast majority voted for Kerry. Usually we start the morning talking about news and gossip, but all you can see are the backs of heads and hear the tapping of keyboards.

-------------------

Last night, John and I ate at a Polish diner. The stuffed cabbage rolls didn't agree with me and I felt queasy. We then went to his parents' house to watch election coverage. Watching TV put me in a bad mood, for some reason, and then I got tired. Tavis Smiley, who's usually upbeat, didn't look so smiley last night. I felt bad I couldn't be better company to Mamma & Pappa John because we do get along, but my mood and tummy hit turbulence, and it didn't help it was my time of the month. We left at 10:00 p.m.

When I came home, the born-again Christians next door had their lawn and windows plastered with "W" signs. I didn't care because I already voted; I'm also used to living, working, and even being able to talk with others who have differences of opinion. What really pissed me off was they put a sign on their second-story window facing directly into my living room. Nobody on the street could see the damn window but me.

I pulled down my shade and but pulled it back up quickly after thinking it over. The woman next door was always very petty. I pretended I didn't see the sign.

The next morning, I smirked, "maybe she's keeping vigil."

Some days I have days where everything feels weird. Election Day was one of them.

I'm not feeling very confident that there will be a change in leadership. However, my former softball coach always said, "it's not over 'til it's over." Just because a team is ahead in a game doesn't mean they win. Motivation and desire are unpredictable things, and the team that's behind can make a comeback. I've played in and watched enough games to see this. The coach's point is to not get overly confident because a game must be played hard until its very end.

For those who voted for the incumbent, I dedicate this song.

I told John that I was just going to keep doing what I've been doing, keep living the way I've been living, and to act on my beliefs based on my conscience and heart instead of fears and lies.

Peace.

downwind | upstream