Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-11-20

A Visitor

My Uncle Joe is coming to Detroit next week for a visit. I'm usually excited when relatives come over. I can have a great time with them, feed them, and then cut them loose when the day is over. I spend quality time with them, and then they can go get stoned; everybody wins!

Uncle Joe wants tickets to the Pistons when he comes to town. I hope tickets will be available. Since the hockey player walk-out (and with the Red Wings out of commission), Detroit's hungry for fights.

I didn't know the Detroit Pistons and Indiana Pacers got into it last night. A spectator threw a beer at Ron Artest's forehead (Indy player), and he went off on the fan. The rest of the Pacers joined him and started fighting in the stands. It got so wild that people who watched the game told me some of the Pistons were in the crowds not fighting, but trying to pull the Pacers off the fans.

I don't know, man, but who's clever enough to throw things at a 6'9 guy in peak shape? They're just asking for a whuping there.

Uncle Joe's an interesting character. He works for the Marriott hotels and loves his job. Whenever he goes places, he stays in a Marriott to evaluate their services and features. Sometimes he reports them at his hotel, and sometimes he just goes for kicks. He's driving up here from Austin, but not directly here. He's going to hit a bunch of Marriott hotels on the way up, and then hit a few once he's in Michigan.

I found this article in the Detroit Free Press about a doorman. The trippy, trippy thing is that the article is my uncle to a "T".

I make silly things for others from time-to-time. I cut and pasted the article and then made some very minor edits (like the name and location). Otherwise, everything that is said is nearly exact to what Uncle says about a lot of things. I made it nice in a newspaper-style layout, enclosed a picture of him as doorman, and will present it to him next week.

Here is the article with edits:

A FEW MINUTUES WITH...: THE RADIANT DOORMAN

(photo and caption): Doorman Uncle Joe speaks with the Detroit Free Press about his typical day.

November 15, 2004

BY JIM SCHAEFER
FREE PRESS STAFF WRITER
and HITCH-HIKE
GUEST WRITER

The following article really was published in the DETROIT FREE PRESS but the parts changed in the story are italicized. It all sounds like what Joe usually has to say!

You might have seen him outside a grand hotel in Austin, resplendent in top hat, tuxedo pants and formal overcoat -- a 5-foot-10 throwback to old-time dignity and decorum. For five years, Uncle Joe, forty-somehing, of Austin has stood post outside the doors of the ornate, newly renovated Marriott greeting passers-by, welcoming workers and offering a tip of the hat to cruising motorists.

QUESTION: What experience do you need to be a doorman?
ANSWER: You have to like people. ... I find that a lot of mornings people come to work, they're a little sluggish, a little groggy. And they really don't feel like making the donuts, you know, early in the morning. So a kind word, smile or gesture ... it brightens their day.

Q: What time are you there?
A: I try to get out there at least by 7:45, get out in the morning and just greet the people ... tell them to "Enjoy your day" or something. "Be victorious today." (--honest, he really, really says things like that!)

Q: Is that one of your lines?
A: Yes. That's one that always gets a positive reaction.

Q: What if you wake up in a bad mood?
A: I have a good God who loves me. I'm just always in a good mood. Always. (--He once said to me and others, "I don't think I've ever been in a bad mood.")

Q: Always?
A: Well, I can't say always. But every day I wake up is a good day. Whatever comes, I take it with a grain of salt and keep going.

Q: What do people get out of running into you?
A: People get a good feeling. It redeems their faith in humanity and lets them know that there is still some good people in this world and you don't have to be afraid all the time.

Q: So if I'm walking in with a frown, what would you say?
A: I'd say, "Good evening, young man. How are you today?"

Q: Young man?
A: Oh, yeah. That always puts a smile on their face.

Q: Do people scowl or respond favorably?
A: The majority of the time they do respond favorably. ... I've had about three people who were just naturally born "Grrrrrrrrrrrrr."

Q: Did you always want to be a doorman?
A: Never crossed my mind ... but we never know where we'll end up in life.

Q: Any interesting stories?
A: Some I don't care to share. But yes ... this one guy from New York, he was telling me he was in awe of the building. And how he stumbled into the building. ... He thought he was in Houston. ... He really had a nice time. I told him how to get back to the Greyhound station.

Q: You've had fair weather for your first five years. What will you do when it's subzero?
A: I'm going to still have a frozen smile on my face.

Q: Anything you think is important to share with readers?
A: Hmm. I would like to say something profound. ... Every day is a good day. If you wake up, it's a good day. So enjoy life. It's better than the alternative.

(Here is the actual article in the Free Press).

downwind | upstream