Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-11-24

Thinking things through

I had a thoughtful entry last night where I described the decision-making process behind leaving my college town for attending grad school in the big, bad Metro Dee-troit. I wrote that I left because I felt my life was stagnating economically, professionally, and romantically. I also said I wanted to leave behind some icky memories such as the internship and 2 beaus who frustrated me to tears. I also left because I was acting like a runaway, running away from my family for a bunch of reasons. Finally, I left because I wanted to draw more opportunity into my life (in the areas I previously mencion), and to move forward.

I described this in more detail, but my dial-up disconnected and tried to post without realizing it. (I'm so cheap I don't have cable OR DSL... It's bad... for the longest time I didn't even own a microwave). When I posted, it went nowhere...

I thought this over so I could make sure if I move away, then I'm doing it for the right reasons.

I felt sort of sad thinking this over, but I knew I had to do it.

I thought of my decision-making, and I also wrote about my accomplishments here. I certainly got what I came for, and then some.

I got a rejection letter from my alma mater, University of the Rust Belt State. I didn't bother to open the envelope because I received enough of them to know what it was.

A couple hours later, my phone rang. I looked at the caller ID to make sure it wasn't a telemarketer.

It wasn't. It said, "FLORIDA CALL".

In my business, a phone call is much better than an envelope, such as the aforementioned one.

Take a guess at what that was all about?

downwind | upstream