Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-01

A little good-bye kiss?

The univ.lib people have added something to their usual greeting to me: "Hey, congrats!! I hear you got that job in Florida!"

Aww, that's sweet. I've been talking alot about the arrangements, job at hand, etc-etc. People seem pretty happy. Marty with the charming Czech accent seemed very, very happy. He's smiling at me more lately.

Smiling. Marty's alright. He's quite attractive and I can leave it at that. I'll probably get a huggy-hug from him and all the others at the holiday gathering/going away party in a couple weeks. I hope so.

I was warming up water for tea this morning in the small, isolated lunch room. I mused, "hmmm, I can give his good-bye kiss in here," and snickered to myself. Yeah, Marty's certainly kissable.

Later, I was walking to the student union for lunch, and passed the office of Ol' Blue Eyes, my former advisor. I drop in every once in a while if his office light is on to say hello. Blue Eyes, he has these amazing big, blue eyes and reminds me of Russell Crowe. He was the first person who made my heart go pitter-patter after I broke up with Darling Disturbed D*. Maybe I can stop by there, and get a little kiss from him? I hugged him already when we once had coffee, but I'm certainly good for another hug; as I recalled, he gave great hugs.

Hmmm, another guy I never got to kiss was Mojo, a networking guy in the building across from mine. I had a little crush on him, though it never went anywhere. He's so cute... he reminds me of those 90s grunge rock guys. I wonder if he still jams to Soundgarden?

There's Seamus, who graduated with me and got a full-time job here. He's really cool (for a guy librarian), but I don't think I need a kiss. I appreciate him like I appreciate my brother. For some reason, he always felt more like a brother than somebody datable. I can go with a hug.

Of course, there's the instructors I'd love to give a warm smile and hug to, in all sincerity. There's the cheerful Professor Dingledork who taught me Visual Basic and Java, and Dr. Hibbert who wrote an excellent reference for me. The dean-- oh, forget the dean. He'd get his hug or near-grope if he could get close enough. I have a picture from my induction ceremony with him, where he had his arm wrapped around my waist and I was squished in his side.

I doubt Timmy will be there 'cause he's way up in W____. It seemed he fancied me; I liked the attention but it was hard to get to know anyone who lived so far away. Julio and I tried hooking him up with Treebuilt, a co-worker who took a job in his town, but then Julio turned around and tried hooking him up with me! If Timmy's there, oh, a hug will do. He seemed like a sweet guy.

Gee, there's usually something peculiar about most men who become librarians or work in libraries. They're sort of like warlocks, or not manly men. But still... I managed to find some of some appealing men in this library, but then it's probably because we're large and have over 200 people employed. It enlarges the pool and possibilities of good-looking guys.

If I don't get the chance to kiss Marty, Ol' Blue Eyes, or Mojo, I shouldn't dispair. The national library association has a huge conference every year, so I could catch up then, when we aren't working together and any contact won't be scandalous.

I don't know. Maybe I better watch who I kiss. I might catch mono. Oh, well. It's just fun to imagine.

downwind | upstream