Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-07

Let's go to the movies

I've been on an Omar Sharif kick lately, but not intentionally. I rented Hidalgo, and there he was, playing a sheik. Not long ago, I rented a Monsieur Ibrahim and enjoyed that. I decided to just give in, so I rented Doctor Zhivago. I loved that movie! I usually don't go for straight romance movies, but if they have a historical backdrop or other things happening in the plot, I usually can watch it. Well, I hated the repetitious love theme that played while he wrote his poetry. There he was, with this faraway, dreamy look on his face. He was a deserter from the Red Army, his family was deported, and he's on the run from a court martial, if not firing squad. However, he's with his love and he's enraptured while the world falls apart around him, and then he writes poetry. That piece was a little too much.

I gave in and watched Team America: World Police. I want to slap myself for it, but I guess I can say I had a curiosity, where you want to see something you know is bad or undesirable but you can't help but to just take a peek.

I feel a little better because I watched it at the second-run $2.00 movie theater. One of my friends lived around here 20 years ago and recalled the theater was really sleazy. 20 years later, damn! I wonder how it looked when he frequented the place! As we walked in the theater, a couple bathroom sinks laid against the back walls. The drop ceiling was missing more than a few tiles. Our feet really did stick to the floors! I guess the surroundings fit the movie and added to the experience.

John was with me, and I thought he was going to explode because he was cracking up. John's on the prim and mannerly side, so it was a shock to see him laugh at all the profanity and cock-sucking jokes. It reminded me of a date I had a few years back, when I watched Road Trip with this guy who turned red from laughing.

My friend Ivan recalled going to see South Park. He said the audience consisted of guys with their buddies and young couples. At the funny parts, the guys roared with laughter, while the girls giggled a little before quickly composing themselves. Yup, that was John and I at Team America, at the sleazy Ford-Tel Theater.

downwind | upstream