Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-16

The Status Report

Moving plans: SNAFU

Chances of finding an apartment when I'm down there: 1 in 90

Going away parties: 2

Good-bye meals with individuals: 6

Good-bye talks on the phone with "friends" and "family" I hadn't talked to in God-knows-how-long, and who I probably wouldn't had been talking with in the first place: 5 (so far)

Number of people who pissed and moaned at my not having time (never mind incentive) for visiting them one last time: 30+

The number of those people who are willing to come to my neighborhood or commit to a date and time for a last, mass gathering: -0-

On a scale of 1 (least) to 10 (most): John gets a "9" for sticking to me like glue and getting on my last nerve!

Current temperature in my flat: 45 Degrees Fahrenheit

Why? The ghetto-girl downstairs from me has the thermostat in her unit. She didn't pay her Detroit Edison bill, so her electric got shut off. She's staying with others until she either pays the bill or gets it turned on under someone else's name, so she decided to turn off the furnace because she's not there.

Remedy? "Greaseball, I'm very sorry she's having money problems, but it is freezing FUCKING cold up here (exact words)! Besides, aren't you worried the pipes in the basement will freeze and burst?"

Grease: "I never though of that. If she's not back by Thursday, I'll just go in the house and turn it on myself."

In all probability: Will call Greaseball tonight to majorly bitch (this is Metro Detroit, nice words don't go anywhere), and then he'll come in at 9:00 p.m. and finally put the heat on 65.

Moving prediction: I will find some sort of vehicle by the skin of my teeth and will move, and will have to room with one of the other librarians 'til I find a decent place to stay. Will pray, use stress beads, Valiums, whatever it takes to calm my nerves of this whole damn thing!

downwind | upstream