Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-18

Employee Exit Interview

Employee Name: Hitch-hike

(checked)I will complete a written EXIT INTERVIEW form (includes signature)

What is your reason for leaving? I accepted a full-time job in a college library in the Sunshine State.

What do you like and dislike about the library? (+) Cooperative relationship with area libraries and to patrons who are not municipality residents; Attractive, welcoming facilities. (-) Highly charged political environment between library board and library staff.

What did you like and dislike about your job? (+) Working with other librarians, overall relaxed interactions (generally, snicker-snicker, as long as they weren't in one of their moods that make mine look quite placid); Learning more about reference sources and providing service; Always learning something new or challenged to do so. (-) Rotating hours were awkward (to say I could've said SO MUCH MORE on this is an understatement. Something like this schedule unduly imposed on my personal life and felt like indentured servitude is diplomatically along the lines.

Were you treated fairly? Yes. They equally screwed with everyone's vacations and personal time off, discouraged new ideas, and turned a blind ear to suggestions for me as much as they had for everyone else unless they were supervisors.

What suggestions could you offer to make this a better place to work? I'm curious to know how other staffpersons and librarians would like to have regular hours, even if they were in the evenings.

Please understand I worded this carefully... any smart-ass remark on my part could end up bitch-smacking me down the road if any other employer gets wind of this. I said what I had to say, though it sure would had been nice to give them a glimpse of the anguish this job often made me feel. Canadian Jane suggested I burn something (small, inexpensive) so I feel like I'm leaving these heavier things behind.

downwind | upstream