Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-20

Midnight Librarian's Log

I thought I'd journal the hours passing to keep me awake...

12:00 a.m. First walk through the library to count how many people are here; 250 students cramming. Some scruffy guy collecting cans out of waste baskets (street person in here after hours?). Ask for his school ID. Lo & behold, he has one so I thank him and let him be.

Finish Philly Steak Sub and down can of Coke; 6 are here for the evening. I drink most of bottled water.

Pop Matrix Reloaded in the reference station computer.

Point about 25 people to the 24-hour exit.

Three Middle Eastern guys laughing loudly and jumping on each other. I watch quietly before they notice me. "Oh, hey," they laugh, "it's finals week, we're just letting off some stress." I laugh and wave, and they quiet but just snicker.

1:00 a.m. Pause Matrix at part where Neo meets the Oracle. Contemplating pizza rolls brought with me, or the KitKat candy bar. Walk through library, 200 people. About 12 students are sleeping in creative contortions and arrangements of chairs. Lips cracking, eyes feeling sensitive. Fetch second can of Coke. Glad I'm inside, because it's freezing outside!

2:00 a.m. Walked the lib., and 124 people are either sleeping or cramming. Devoured pizza rolls, popped open second can of Coke (echoed in silent library), but KitKat is up to bat. Said goodbyes to Mia, a check-out girl known since I've started and we swapped e-mails (she's sweet). She got me coffee the last time I did the all-nights. Sebra a librarian called to say "yo" and to confirm Tuesday evening dinner at some Arab place near my house (I don't go to mid-eastern restaurants much around here; I don't hate it, but their food just never grew on me). Eyes are getting heavy.

Feeling surprise... I leave this area in 6 days. A new life beings. (**Trepidation, slight sinking feeling**). I've been in denial, I've been treating this move like a short trip rather than the major transition it's going to be.

3ish a.m. Agent Smith reminds me of a guy I once dated. I'd kill for some ChapStick. 83 students in the library. One group is solving differential equations on a white dry-erase board (**quivers** I'm another mathematically handicapped American, though I tried my hardest to do well with it; but dammit, I'm good with geography and civics!). I see coats and bookbags here & there, but no bodies. Did they step into another dimension, or is there some door like Stargate in this library? Little noises startle me. Eew, I get paranoid when I'm sleep deprived.

4ish a.m. A guy forgot his print card to print his PowerPoint presentation (taught by Martha, a librarian I work with). I have mercy and tell him I can assist, but under condition he has his final product ready and edited. He sighs and walks away. Did he really think I was gonna do that for him?... Students working on differential equation now speaking softly to each other. Wish I could speak Urdu or Hindi; the people are so beautiful from that part of the world. Finally Matrix is over.

5:00 on the dot. Feeling slightly groggy but surprisingly alert. Big Boss arrives to relieve me! Joy!!! He presents me with a lovely silver clock and a big hug (he's a big guy). Compile remaining relics from desk, stuff in college bookbag. Gather uneaten pizza rolls, 4 cans of pop, and a pack of M&Ms; toss out remaining stick of KitKat after Big Boss refuses it.

As I walk away from the library, crisply muse, "when I interviewed for the job here 3 years ago, I said I was going to walk through those doors every day to go to work. Hot damn, it worked!"

It's been real. Thank you, Dee-troit!

downwind | upstream