Cafe Hitch-hike

2021-02-16

Because they mean something to me

I am saddened by the news that one of my favorite people at my workplace is a finalist for an esteemed position elsewhere. The chances are high they will get the offer and make tracks. Why? Because all of our best people usually bail after a while.

I want to weep because this person is...

...even-keeled. They really hold their own among some seriously crunchy people who work under and over them, and I've never seen him lose it or even get angry. Instead, he has a nice smile on his peachy complexion and does actually field tough questions.

...he's easy on the eyes and then some. He has great hair and a nice smile.

...I was on a bunch of committees with him, and I paid extra attention because I got to see him. Seeing him was a relief and refilled my senses. I even liked his voice. It made me wonder if I was on the committees because he was on them, but no, we actually have mutual professional interests.

No, really, I do want to weep. I liked this guy a lot as a colleague and thought we were a better place because of him.

Well, I'll pass myself the Kleenex and maybe we in the building will give literal or virtual hugs of condolence. I've had favorite people move on, and it's something to remember them and what it was like to be around them. For one particular grand pubah, I remember getting teary-eyed when I found a note they wrote me in my stuff, and I still feel that way when I think of him. This colleague died suddenly about 2 years ago, and I felt more sad about that. This guy and I travelled many of the same roads, except he was on them years before me. He knew everyone I worked with and trained with, and even where I went to college. We worked on some projects well before I got work at the same place as him, and I found it to be pleasant.

This grand pubah also notified me when my esteemed mentor (caringly known as Big Boss) died in 2012. Big Boss had heart surgery and passed away towards the end of it. The GP told me with sympathy, and we had a nice talk about it.

Since this GP was Jewish, I wanted to pass along a sentiment in his faith, so I got familiar with Kel Maleh Rachamim (Prayer for the Soul of the Departed). Unfortunately, I got to invoke it more than once in recent times. Something he moved me to do was-- reused when appropriate.


Despite all the crazy shit I get to see with my employer, there's something assuring notice there's many I do, in fact, care about and because they mean something to me.

downwind | upstream