Cafe Hitch-hike

2021-07-19

Tell me, tell me, tell me!

I got in touch with Mirabella, one of the ladies from the weekend energy workshop from this past May. I thought we could meet for coffee, but she invited me to energy circle she and others from the workshop attend. It was nice to get back in touch with the ladies and talk about energy stuff. They are reiki masters but also are interested in all kinds of new agey things I never touched, but were happy to discuss at length.

Wow, one thing I could say is their energy really bounced off each other and expanded. They've been friends for a few years and go to the same shops and trainings. It was nice to be in their company, but must admit I felt almost drained at the end of the evening.

Mira told me the ladies had cards and other divination tools of sorts. I brought a Rider tarot deck (the traditional kind) and no one else had anything like that. We took turns reading each other, and--

One person claimed she had a message for someone in the group. She said someone's old high school friend was interested in them and would come back to their life. The high school friend liked to draw and sometimes it was superheroes.

I guess the message was for me? I knew 3 people like that and they all were in 6th hour Mr. Duquette's art class during my senior year: Jesus (someone whose family has been friends with mine for 3 generations), Ben (the French exchange student who thought he was riding his bike to my house at 1:00 a.m. but headed to my grandfather's instead), and Jens Copperas (that guy I visited in Nijmegen 2 years ago and 28 years after we finished high school). She said someone would be back in touch and they have the serious hots for me.

Um, ok. Jesus and Ben are both married. I wasn't interested in J. although I think he's cool, and B. and I fancied each other but nothing ever came of that. I am also in touch with the both of them and know they love their wives. Jens? That would be a stretch. It's extremely unlikely he'd be back. I haven't heard from him in a few months and he had no interest in visiting America again.

The person then added, "pick your wedding dress!" Instead of getting excited, I smiled and lightly shrugged. I'm sure she meant well, I thought. And hey, maybe I should pick a wedding dress anyway and just for kicks!

I then offered to read cards as my offering to the group. After the second reading, I saw what was happening. All of the ladies were unattached and pining for someone.

My summary of first reading: I see that you were really interested in someone, but now you're kind of holding on to your feelings and seeing what happens first before you make any moves.

Her reply: Yeah, I was dating a guy but he ended up getting engaged to someone else. Is there any chances of us getting back together? Tell me, tell me, tell me...

My summary of second reading: Things are going really well, but the only thing I see missing is someone to share it with. I do see a male presence, but (then came the cards of The Devil and 7 of Swords, pretty bad things to have for a relationship reading). At the rate things are going, I'd really take your time with anyone you're interested in, let it unfold, and just take in any information or vibes you get and act accordingly.

(My hyper-realistic interpretation: Um, I see this turning into a love addiction seriously quick on someone's end, and the other person's gonna sneak away and leave the other in a serious emotional lurch. Beware, beware, beware!!)

Second reading reply: (describes a scenario of a random chance meeting, unrequited love spanning 6 years, and excuses the guy gives for not feeling the same, but she will hold on and send him good vibes because she feels in her heart that he will change).

I then overheard another person give Mira a reading, and Mira looked at the reader as seriously as cancer. The look I saw in Mira's eyes went something like, 'tell me it will work out, tell me!' On the way home, Mira described her dating dilemma, and it was a story that involved a triangle. She wasn't into one of the guys in it but changed her mind, now he doesn't want her back but she wants him, but there's still 2 others she feels iffy about (and M. is in her early 70s).

Maybe that was why my energy felt a bit sucked dry at the end of the evening. They didn't want actual readings but be told what they wanted to hear. Then again, I had to to laugh about myself. I didn't say anything about my recent love life, but I could kind of relate. I had wishes and desires for that relationship, and it would had been nice to get seemingly metaphysical reassurances that it would work (especially when it had zero signs from the person of interest, very poor conditions for it working, or we sent good vibes so the guy would love us the way we wanted).

I do pine about Huck on occasion and sometimes have to pull myself out of that. At times I feel like I've got a grip ('yeah, it was a nice ride, I'll withdraw from that opiate in good time, we'll go our separate ways, and it will fade without us knowing it') and then I'm just about in the same boat as the other ladies ('tell me it will work out, tell me!').

I did get a reading and by then, I didn't give a prick about anything to do with love and relationships. It said I recently had a very nice sweet one (true) but there was deceit and it tied me up inside (also true). Right now, I need to have faith in myself and take action, but don't worry about any possible storms because I'm protected. This will lead to a nice romance with someone who appreciates me. Oh yeah, and my connection to spirit will increase. I may be asked to sign a contract for my work or commit to something, and don't spend too much money (oh my, and I was about to). You'll be all right, you'll be called on for your insight and knowledge, and even though your work or commitment may demand a lot, will feel much more at ease.

I can dig this one a lot more than the little 'pick a wedding dress' message, but at least I feel better that it mentioned others things of interest (despite my own whiny wish for assurance, haaaah).

downwind | upstream