Cafe Hitch-hike

2021-09-01

'Yes' to all of the above.


No, really, it kept its momentum. It was a simple yet so beautiful birthday:

Convo #1 (via Text):
Mark (cute, young Trini guy): I'd love to hang out with you and your sisters this weekend if you have an 80s style slumber party >:-)
Me: Oh, my.
Mark: ?
Me: I might need you to sign a waiver absolving me of responsibility of what happens to you!
Mark: :-D
Me: I'd rather send you on one of my uncle's famous "Make You a Man" adventures. At least they'll get you drunk enough so you forget and can't be traumatized. Or you'll say it was one of the coolest nights ever and you're part of a brotherhood (of those who lived).
Mark: You got me laughing over here. Probably some great stories!

Convo #2 (in-person at the local Mexican cantina). I met Cafu, a former neighbor from Gulf Bluff, who is an intense Peruvian who is career Navy as a cop and also in intelligence. He was on liberty and was visiting family in Miami when he texted me! It was the first time we had seen each other since 2007, when he left for Iraq and I moved away from Gulf Bluff.

Cafu is on serious medications and will probably take a medical retirement at the end of the year. The service has been brutal and Peru didn't sound particularly gentle to him as a kid. Cafu never told me what he's seen or done in his service, and something tells me not ask. However, it was another one of those instances where we simply picked up where we left off: what 14 year lapse? I think it was another one of those instances where our presence was like another warm campfire for each other. We talked about some interesting personal things, and I noticed it really got the attention of us both, especially when we shared defeats. He had to leave soon because he doesn't like driving when it's dark, but it's so true as what a friend once said: 'being a friend is the greatest gift you can give someone and being one is an honor.'

Convo #3 (on the phone). My mom needed someone to talk to, and we talked for almost an hour and a half. She really can be in good spirits sometimes and is funny. She sent me 2 Raggedy Ann and Andy dolls, which were my favorites when I was a kid. They are big, very huggable, and easily found spots in my bedroom and guest room.

Convo #4 (text).
Sis Big Momma: Happy birthday, Sis. Can you lend me $50?
Me: Uncle Rich said that's more than $5.00 (inside family joke)! (I did, she's always good for it. And, I love her.)

I guess this birthday feels better because-- of all the deaths? All the changes? That I've been able to wake up to so many chances? That I feel like I've been able to heal with a lot of things?

I also feel better because-- I'm giving more love? I got to feel great love? I'm enjoying my job? I'm feeling immense gratitude? 'Yes' to all of the above.

downwind | upstream