Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-06-14

His Way

Speaking of people who make it clear they're not to be told what to do, Carlo gave specific instructions for this to be played at his simple funeral.

A cremation will follow a simple funeral with this song. He asked his friend Giancarlo to take his ashes back to Germany.

I knew and loved my friend very well after all. Thank you, Carlo, for affirming this through this song as your last request. I love you, and you knew I couldn't stand you sometimes, but you knew I always loved you and did more with every passing year. You were always so witty, my friend, and this song says it so well. I will cry even if you don't want me to (I can blame being a woman and the Latino blood in my veins), but I will laugh and toast your memory and all we got to see together.

I'll find a song for you in reply. It might not be Andre Rieu (or maybe it will be if it's just right and my ears and eyes can withstand it).

downwind | upstream