Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-27

The gift that keeps on giving

Tomorrow I have an interview with an ethnic studies museum. On April Fool's Day, I found about them through a job fair at my college, and I wrote something like this:

Talked to a small ethnic museum who wanted to eventually hire a librarian. They didn't seem too enthused to talk to anyone. They just wanted to distribute brochures of their organizations, take resumes, and shoo people away. Ching-ow, I thought, why did they and other organizations like them bother to show up?

When I got home, I tossed their brochure in my paper bin, hissing, "I'll never hear from them!"

Open foot, insert mouth.

I still don't have the brochure and I fibbed to the lady who called me back: "Do I have the brochure? Oh, yeah!" To compensate, I carefully read their webpage and tried to familiarize myself with their organization.

The library museum will have a full-time and part-time job available. Agh, something tells me they may offer me the latter. It would be a lateral move. Do I want to trade the $12/hr technician job at the univ.lib for this?? I don't know yet. I'll see what they have to offer and take it from there.

Here I was, oh-so-recently pissing and moaning about my pub.lib job and the strains it puts on my life. I get a good review, Ms. Nightengale has been sweet to me, all the staff have been nice to me despite my antisocial ways in the break-room. I'd swear they know I'm thinking of making tracks or something!

It reminds me of when my first attorney-boss, the giggolo, gave me a sweet bonus while I was most agressively job searching to get the hell out of his office. At the same time, I was inching towards some very promising jobs too. It racked me with guilt for a little while.

Since I've been in Detroit, it would rack me for, oh, 5 minutes and then dissolve. This place has a way of toughening you up.

-------------

Mother's Day is around the corner. I looked in a catalog selling outdoor gear and saw a pair of cowboy boots. My mother really would dig a pair of those. Really, you don't know my mother! Maybe I can find a nice cowgirl hat to go with it! She's in the Lone Star State now, so if she wants to pick up the blue-eyed cowboy she's always wanted, then she's gotta get with the program! She's gotta look nice at the honky-tonks!

Yeah, for some reason my mom was always attracted to blue-eyed white men with an outdoorsy streak to them. She liked the cowboy, countryish, NASCAR-dad type. I have no idea how she was ever attracted to my father. He gleefully ran away from his rural upbringing and lived the city life to its fullest.

Gifts never seem to last long with Mom. A lot of times, she gave the gifts away. She'd say it was too nice for her or she didn't have any occasions to use or wear her stuff. I started getting her cute things; she never gives those away, but then one of my sisters ends up stealing it! I got her sweaters with bears on it, pajamas, and a cool mug from England. I then decided to never buy her glass or ceramic because it always ends up getting broken (accident or altercation). Sending Mom money is absolutely out of the question because I don't want to support any bad habit of hers! No way!

One year, I huffed, "Mom, I'm getting you something I know you'll never give away!"

"Really? And what will that be?"

"A TATTOO!!"

No, she didn't want a tattoo.

downwind | upstream