Cafe Hitch-hike

2018-09-30

I sure hope to see you in my dreams, Tio

I had to send some info to my family in Austin about a lawyer consultation and referral so we can be advised about probate, a link to a place that can do both cremation and public viewings for their consideration, and the draft of an obituary I wrote for Uncle Joe.

I then sent this to others in my family, as my way of announcing it.


Jose Natividad del Valle
Beloved brother, uncle, and friend
Feb. 9, 1957 - September 30, 2018
Sunrise: Michigan
Sunset: Austin, TX

I thought of something I said to Uncle Joe while he grieved the death Grandma Lina. He texted me a bunch of times and sent me pictures of her, and we even talked a few times. I had never seen him like that, but of course! It was his mother who passed and he was so sad! I'm glad he was able to reach out and show this to me...

I said to him, "I do pray for the souls of those we love, and also for those who have passed. They are forever in our heart and their love will keep carrying us through life... and I miss her, and cry with you, too." Always the tough guy (and with that soft spot), I hope he understood that it was ok to feel that way and I was with him.

That is where we all are right now: praying for the souls of those we love and who have passed. They are in our heart and their love will keep carrying us through life... Naturally, we will hope for the best, walk through it the best we can (even if we have to crawl or creep forward), and cry when we need to. I'm not trying to paint this in a pretty way. It's just the way I truly feel right now.

joe-birthday card

I will love you always, and miss you, Uncle Joe. At least now you are no longer in pain, and maybe can see the others we've loved who are no longer with us...

I sure hope to see you in my dreams, Tio. I will love you and miss you, too...

downwind | upstream