Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-04-02

Things I love to do

Dear Co-Workers:

I love doing these things with all my heart. I live to do them. I wake up in the morning, bright with anticipation, that I will get to do these things, especially:

1. Be dumped in the middle of YOUR big project, especially after you've laid the groundwork. I somehow get braided into your project because my boss perceives I don't have enough to do.

2. Get yelled at by a supervisor of another department because they had to handle situations that our department was supposed to handle.

3. Be expected to be completely at my boss's beck and call. Be expected to put my personal life and other job on hold so I can be available for unforeseen disasters that somehow barrel into our office and into our schedules.

4. And, have my boss treat me like I am a lazy ass who is putting no efforts whatsoever in my fucking job search! Since I am putting in no effort, that is why I'm still stuck here, right? I am also choosy and am only applying for jobs in this area, right??? WRONG!!! 75% of the jobs I've applied for were OUT-OF-STATE!

Yes everybody, I look forward to those things. I look forward to them even more than:

1. Swimming in the ocean

2. Sunbathing and swimming nude (in the ocean? Even better!)

3. Making love

4. Curling up on my couch with a good book and warm cup of tea or cocoa

5. Spending time with my guy

6. Having a normal, chemical-free event with my family

7. Talking to my friends

8. Travelling everywhere

9. Writing

10. Working out (when I feel like it)

11. Decorating my flat

--------------

I was considering telling the library world to piss off and try to apply for corporate positions instead.

Well, I never liked the idea of working in a corporation. I'm too much of a wanderer and need free range to roam (sort of like a buffalo, hahah). Yeah, I don't care for the suit & tie and corporate culture of sameness. I also imagined starting on the very bottom rung where I'd stay forever because I'm not catty or aggressive enough to fight my way up the ladder. I haven't met anyone with the title, "Office Adminstrator," who I got along with, either. When I worked at a law job in EL Town, my O.A. supervisor hated everything about me, down to the shoes I wore, the cut of my slacks, and the color of my hair. Yeah, she was very happy when I gave my letter of resignation to go to grad school. In a corporation, I'd get to deal with people like her, and then sell my soul in exchange for an eventual pink-slip. Hooray. No, thanks, I thought.

However, Greaseball the Landlord, John, and another person suggested that path. They say they think I have skills for it and that I'd do well. I think I may consider it or at least put a little effort into it because my efforts with libraries haven't been very promising.

The next things to do would be to browse websites for jobs and submit my information to placement agenices. They can arrange my career/arranged marriage.

John's been giving me paralegal stuff to do and he pays well. However, it's not quite steady enough.

Things I love to do, things I love to do...

downwind | upstream