Cafe Hitch-hike

2020-03-31

The Big Boom

So here I am, chewing on what's going on and digesting it further along. I know for sure that I'm an ambivert. The extravert side feels somewhat bummed about social distancing, but at the same time, the introvert is not. If anything, this is what my life and disposition got me ready to do. As of now, I hear a considerable number of people more or less say their tough experiences got them ready for this. They embrace the slowdowns, yet feel they will be able to brace a shakeup.

I've learned more about others. One colleague grew up in a war zone, another had their economics fluctuate really wildly, and others had near-traumatic or difficult circumstances... They say they are taking what they learned from those experiences that may be put to use today. It seems like the people who were able to embrace and work with life's tough times now feel courage during this time; they feel like they have a good idea of what to expect and what they will need to do because they went through a tough time. They will not be paralyzed with fear, but will give it is healthy due.

I guess a lot of things, so far, didn't turn out so bad. I had just wrapped up a phase in my current gig, and was slowly but gradually getting to the next one. I had been relieved of my previous duties for a whole month when this had happened, so I didn't have those tasks to do. Instead, I've been doing a lot of behind-the-scenes work and studying up on things. I don't work the entire 8 hours, yet spent more time individually on projects and felt more productive (hah). The gig landing at my house wasn't very bumpy at all.

So, on the flip side, the realities of not being able to see people are sinking in. I've had to limit my activities, and it's not a bad idea. I am at a higher risk here and its realities make it so.

All kinds of crazy conspiracy theories and energies are in the air. I just listen to the experts once day, see what pings I see in the health science community, and check on friends. I do read a lot for work. As for my social media, it seems like the same few keep updating over and over (or the platform's algorithm sucks). However, it really is such a weird feeling in the air. And through it, I feel grateful (at this point) that I am where I am now. I was starting to feel all right about things, and... hey, we just have to do our best with what we've got.


I'd be lying if I said I don't feel nervous. I wonder what the fallout might be from all of this. It's going to be a clusterfuck of a traffic jam to redirect or clean up things. Employment, banks, education, families who have to shelter in place... it's all a chain reaction, something pushes or pulls on something else, and it takes a while to smooth out the kinks and get it moving without a hitch. The unknown is when will it end, how intense it will get, and how well will things hold up through the aftershocks (there's always some after a big boom).

downwind | upstream