Cafe Hitch-hike

2004-12-18

The Status Report (Edit 1)

Moving plans: SNAFU I hired a mover! They will load the truck and unload. HOO-RAH!

Chances of finding an apartment when I'm down there: 1 in 90 Slightly better. A lady called me back, apologizing for her late response 'cause she was getting ready for the holidays. If she digs my credit report and references, I should have something by the new years!

Going away parties: 2 The pub.librarians organized an intimate and cozy going away party! They gave me a basket with sunblock, lip sunblock, aloe vera gel, and cool sunglasses! Canadian Jane gave me a snowman in a Christmas ball with snow. Inscribed on the bottom: So you don't forget the snow! --Canadian Jane Afterwards, we went to a Christmas light show.

Big Boss at the univ.library gave me a nice going away party with some words of wisdom:

  • Lead by consent, and not from simply from getting assigned a leadership role. You'll be more effective if people trust you to lead.

  • Encourage those around you to develop their skills and flourish!
  • It's okay if you can't stand the people you work with. (He said he never met a dean or lib.administrator he liked much) There will be others nearby who can strike that.
  • Current temperature in my flat: 45 Degrees Fahrenheit Probably around 65. The landlord went into Ghetto Girl's unit and turned the heat on.

    In all probability: Will call Greaseball tonight to majorly bitch Didn't have to.

    Moving prediction: I will find some sort of vehicle by the skin of my teeth and will move What happened was that the original mover (Jimbo, John's flaky friend) backed out. I found a mover, and I'm feeling better, better, better!!

    downwind | upstream