Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-06-18

And so life continued

I dreamed Carlo and I were at a beach of one of the nearby fishing villages. In our swimsuits, we sat in a square-shaped spot carved our by the tide, and it was a foot or 2 lower than the beach around it. The sand was lightly damp from the recent tide and was cooler than the sand around it. The square would have had water if the tide was higher. Carlo was in good spirits and we watched a sea turtle wiggle its way out of the sand a few feet from us. It then lumbered on its flippers to the sea.

The sand between us moved. Another turtle did the same thing. I was excited and he watched intently. When the turtle was out of the sand, it had a thick membrane around it. Carlo touched it to take it off the turtle though I reminded him of of local ordinances that forbade that.

"It was going to happen anyway," he said as the membrane around the turtle cracked off. The turtle looked like a pelican amd shook off most of the sand and membrane but turned back into a turtle, and then shuffled to the sea like the one we saw before.

Carlo and I sat in that square dip and looked at the water. Even in the dream, I felt I knew what that was about.

I slowly woke up and felt rested, in a way I hadn't felt foe quite some time. Sea turtles aren't large when they hatch, these were fully grown, but adults are known to dig to lay eggs in the sand, but they don't go under the sand. They clear enough space for a dip for their body and dig a hole where their eggs go, only the eggs stay covered by the sand.

I wondered if this was his soul making that return like the turtle does when it hatches or after it lays its eggs. In the dream, this one had a rebirth at its adult size. If it was, I felt comforted and relieved.

I then dreamed I was in my living room. Someone else and I were on my sofa making love and looking into each other's brown eyes. Everything was the same as when it happened, even down to the natural light in the room.

With each breath and movement, we felt deeper into each other until everything swelled, just like it did when we were togther.

And so life continued in its many ways.

downwind | upstream