Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-09-09

An end to the un-summer

Although I have some hours remaining in my workday, I checked out. I've been on a group project over the summer and it's not been cool to say the least. Words to describe it: drudgery, obligation, robs me/ the group of energy. We are getting close to the end. We had a meeting for it this morning and everyone was so damn tired that we couldn't stay on task. I'm just done for the day.


I found out some unpleasant things about someone I was interested in. We met through a mutual acquaintance and had been talking and then found they were accused of a serious crime but convicted on a lesser charge. That was a bit of a disappointment. I found it strange that he talked about everything except himself. I hadn't been in contact with him all week, but at least things don't have to go any further. Or, I can just do the classic female line, "oh, I met someone."

I guess by this age, everyone is tainted by one thing or another. People also behave badly at times. They say not to judge, but it's one thing when someone's behaviors cause harm or serious difficulty, or what they do is habitual, harmful or criminal. I've been forgiving towards others at times, but when it brings big trouble or ongoing, I'd quietly back away. Sometimes people ran from me when they found out certain things. It's gone both ways.

Well, sometimes I need a serious reality check with things and people. At least I got this one sooner than much later.


My kitchen renovation is just about complete. For my birthday, my brother Deebo and cousin Drew painted my cabinets and now they are a pretty gray with a satin finish. The new quartz countertop was installed along with the backsplash, and my wall had been patched where they removed the old stuff. D&D disconnected one of my bigger lights for fiber optic lights, but it's just ok. I'll reconnect the big light and just use the fiber optic ones when the lights aren't on. But the kitchen... I am A-MAZED! I can't believe it's really in my house! They did a great job. They are professional painters, so they do this for high-end homes very regularly.

I will try my damn best not to do anything else with my casita for the rest of the damn year. I just want to breathe after that renovation, though now I kinda wonder about new flooring. Maybe, maybe not...


So I turned 49. I also took an updated staff photo. I definitely look older than the one taken 5 years ago (duh). My face is a little fuller, my hair is different, but-- I actually liked the look. I looked softer, approachable (or at more so, hah). The strands of gray are more visible and I can literally count a few, but that's about it. I put on 10 pounds since my surgery last spring, but I'm mostly ok with that. I guess I'm getting used to being where I'm at.

The birthday was somewhat uneventful but my mother sent my flowers and I got some nice well-wishes from friends near and far. We were super-busy at work that week, and I was a bit too tired to really enjoy it. It was nice to have my brother over. Sometimes being around certain others was like enjoying the warmth of a campfire. This time, there was something almost musical about talking to my brother and speaking the special language and expressions of siblings. We all definitely had some good laughs since our sense of humor is pretty compatible.

So the summer has pretty much wrapped up and it is getting darker sooner in these parts. This has been the most un-summer of my life. The work group I met with today gave a collective groan with thinking about the holidays. I pretty much think Christmas will be here next week. I really didn't have a particular fun summer. My friend died, an awful work project kept me chained to the building, all my plans to do fun things went kaput, and dating has been a drag.

I'm tired, I want to hide again. It will be very easy since my favorite TV shows have new episodes. Hell, I've even joined the ranks of my female forebearers and am strangely enjoying telenovelas. My Spanish comprehension is still muy malo, hahaha, but thank goodness for captions. I'm not quite this age but I've definitely yelled at Marcos and characters like him on the TV:

"Marcos, don't you touch her!"
"Don't talk to the TV."
"He's touching her! He's not supposed to touch her."
"She should smack his ass then."

Off I got to hide...

downwind | upstream