Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-11-12

Just enjoy nothing serious

*Rants*

Just because you want it easy doesn't mean it's going to be. Just because you're busy, it doesn't mean it mean everyone will work around your damn schedule. Just because you don't want to do the damn work does it mean others will automatically cover for you while you undergo your most recent crisis, get your nails done, or get a bad wifi signal.

I absolutely hate being the bearer of bad news ---> I can't stand telling what the procedures and rules said because others didn't feel like reading them. I can't believe I have to bullet-point and list every thing. I hate being given the dirty looks, like I insulted someone when I'm only describing the task we've been assigned to do. I started saying something every time I get a weird look after explaining something: "These aren't my rules and I didn't make them up. I'm passing along the information I've been given."

I love giving warnings, too. Not my warnings, but ones given to me from The Powers That Be:

"Bob (name of a Trump supporter slacker who didn't go through a mandatory training since he thinks it's a big joke), the Office of ___ specifically told me that the next very, very important phase of the project won't happen until all group members finish the training. I see you hadn't finished them yet, so please try to go to the next ones or we will have some big delays."

I'm a horrible person for reminding Bob of this requirement and for stomping on his civil liberties (hah). I'm a terrible person for also reminding him that his actions have effects or consequences. Is that any way to speak to an autonomous adult?

I really felt like saying, "Bob, if you don't go through training, your huevos will shrivel off. Not my rule, it's an admin thing." I then walk away with a shrug. If only the decisions or inactivity of others only blew back on themselves.

I know we're tired from a hundred and ten fucking things, and so am I. I'm also tired of carrying the weight for people who don't give rip and just want to ride on my coattails. It makes me feel wonderful to know the colleagues I may be working with in the future won't know shit about our jobs and seem to pray they'll never have to handle a difficult situation.

I wish I could tell everyone we're awarded a damn certificate for showing up, but I don't think it works that way.

I then must remind myself this may be the reason I'm one of the better-paid people in the building (partly because most of the ones who outearned me left or retired). I have a decent record of putting out fires, containing spills, and pulling rabbits out of hats (slight exaggeration). I guess the extra is hazard pay, and my years of energy work helped me charm or attract rabbits to show up when I needed them (hah).

'Attitude,' I tell myself, 'attitude, Missy! You need to keep that in check or it's gonna drip all over you like slime' Yeah, I need to replace this with patience I think that has died out long ago.
Enough of the pissing and moaning. I am so grateful for some friends and acquaintances for keeping it real, making me laugh, and occasionally getting me wasted. I can't say this enough.

Next stop: Go to the intercoastal to hear some tunes, watch the boats go by, and just enjoy nothing serious for a while.

downwind | upstream