Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-12-22

Stay put!

As it turns out, I contracted the plague after all. The doc at the urgent care told me since I couldn't see my general practitioner. It's a combo of a flu and cold for me. One person said it hits you in waves (yes). Another said it searches for the weakest link in your body and bumrushes it (yes). Another said they saw gremlins (no, not me). I went to for care because although the fever was gradually lowering (and disappearing and returning, to repeat once or twice a day and more so at night), the cough was no joke.

I was hoping they'd tell me it was a benign respiratory infection (as usual) and send me home with meds, but not this time.

I've had similar flu strains in the past and they were the kind that hit for 2 weeks and left my passages raw for a good month or so. They say it takes away taste and smell, but mine got super sharp. I could taste the minerals in the water I drink more than usual. Marley the dog made a mess across the house and I smelled it right away. I couldn't use the old, steadfast Latino remedy Vicks VapoRub because the smell was overpowering. Maybe I'll finish this with a dog's sense of smell? Hmm...

Christmas and my travel plans are canceled. Astrologically speaking, this was a terrible time to travel (and for some celestial mechanism, Mercury often goes retrograde around this time of the year). I saw it but did want to see loved ones.

It was part of the reason I didn't go to France a few years ago when it was offered, and as it turned out, Uncle Joe was dying. Anyway...

...the weather is going to be seriously bad for much of the US, so I hope those of you take every precaution to stay warm and have supplies. For those in Europe, I am sorry for the instability that is hitting you more than us and I send thoughts of resilience and mutual support (I don't wish to be insensitive about lack, suffering and disruptive change). I hope there is joy to be found in the holidays.

I had to cancel my Christmas gathering which was a pity. With the way it went last year and my plan to expand it this year, I was putting guard rails in place so kooky things won't happen. I joked I didn't want to turn my community into The Villages (a senior community alleged to have one if the highest STD rates in the state because they'r swingers) to the chagrin of my neighbors, hahah! I guess that plan was not meant to be for this holiday.

I wonder if the gods were telling everyone to stay put this season, like it did in the first year of the pandemic.

downwind | upstream