Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-07-12

Temporary replacement

I better try to get myself out a little more. I have good reason now that Professor Insano cancelled one of our big projects (a 10-page paper that I was gonna write on the concept of conflict in our profession). Instead, he added 2 extra pages to our final one due at the end of July. His coursework takes a lot of time (helloooooo assigned readings, but at least these aren't as dense as the ones we had in organizational theories). He told us he was teaching a labor relations class in the fall, which I may very well take. I dunno, I sure hope he doesn't think I'm in love with him (hahahha) but taking a prof multiple times isn't uncommon.


I was guilted back into taking the temporary assistant position after all. I felt awful and swore to myself to never suggest anything I'd regret. Last year and since the building was going to have 3 major retirements, I said I'd be open to being a temporary replacement. Wellll, I was tapped for one after all. We negotiated the year-long contract (and pay) and I had to admit it was very fair (that is, it was reasonable and not exploitative, surprise-surprise). I will start training very soon, but I kinda already had been for the past year or more with the assignments I was given (and usually didn't set on fire, hahah).

I'm trying to see the bright side of things. Maybe the crew that will be in my watch will be relieved to have a breath of fresh air; the person had been there for 20 years. I have 101 questions for my higher-ups to get me ready, so I hope to hide my fear while I'm in and near the building (oh yes, that is there). I already know I'm gonna have 1 hater (that's a given), but apparently, my building's brass along with the unit has full confidence in me.

downwind | upstream