Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-07-20

A successful journey

My little change of status was announced. I wasn't really expecting an overwhelming response (hahaha, mainly because I tend to keep to myself), but I'm just trying to best to not psyche myself out too much. I did that with my current position, and most of what I worried about was baseless.

People were largely surprised to hear the announcement, but then were not once they thought it over. They usually said, "good luck!" although they also said they had confidence in me.

Now, I get prepared.

Years of careful self-study, therapy, and trainings. Check.

Reclaim moxie. Working on it.

Now in my secret desk drawer: mini candies in an Illy can. Tylenol. Personal hygiene products. Eye makeup (shadow and liquid liner for my dark-ish eyes). Catholic Book of Prayers. Hand lotion. Throat drops. Nail grooming kit. Mini sewing kit. Room deodorizer. Lint remover. Bottle of sangria from a colleague's wedding 5 years ago.

To come in said drawer: large bottle of antacids (Tums, fruity flavor). A binder of affirmations that I'm cool and capable along with emergency communication plans. Brown paper bag to breathe into. Multiple cans of Whoop-Ass. Maybe a spell kit and an icon statue from the local botanica. A clean chicken leg bone with a string tied around it to strategically hang up (let people assume I practice voudou or I'm a Santeria priestess).

I got in touch with a former colleague, a fellow BiPOC who is one of the very few in administration. I asked them for some advice, and hope we are able to meet once in a while. I can use their wisdom and moxie (they were a military officer, and a female at that). I want to soak it up like osmosis. She's really cool besides, she was a lovely colleague.

Here I go, and pray this is a successful journey.

downwind | upstream