Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-10-10

For how long or little it can last

*Snippets from a training event*

We checked into the hotel where the conference was held although we were early. The Latin clerk was quite friendly. He told me my room wouldn’t be ready but asked if I’d like to get updated to a suite at no extra cost. My boss was nearby and gasped, “a suite? She gets a suite? I want a suite!”. They got one. It really only amounted to getting a kitchenette we probably didn’t use and a bigger hallway. I saw 2 robes and 2 slippers in the closet, and it was a very modern design. Sweet!

The intellectual robber-baron company who is holding this training/ conference/ pep rally is treating us alright, with everything from nice swag I’ll probably give away to the eye-candy sales reps (one who told me lives a mile away, hot dog! I’m sure the eye-candy is part of their business strategy).

I met some bigwigs with my boss who were soliciting opinions on their product (over chips, sandwiches, and soda pop, and a killer rum cake), and telling us the developer side of it. The head sales rep’s previous job, before he became an MBA and computer designer, was probably representing a Middle Eastern country in the Mr. World contest for both looks and build.

One of my team members, I learned, spent a lot of time in Latin America and asked me my heritage. He smiled and said he dated a Puerto Rican PhD for a few years. So he likes Latinas and smart ones at that, I see. I smiled, hopefully she was petite so I wouldn’t remind him too much of her. I’ll enjoy the mutual attraction and not let it boil over; God knows I’d be a fool to commit career suicide at this point with a dalliance.

While I was in town, I called someone I knew from way back when. I thought I’d have to schmooze with the boss and others, but they had their own plans and so did the team members. I decided to look them up and I guess they had the day off for the federal holiday. Oh my god, did I have so many happy memories in this town and this person. We had a great intellectual rapport and so many laughs! I’m so glad we were able to stay friends, he is so lovely. My heart fluttered a lot, he seemed very happy to see me. The laughs and brain connection continued.

I walked alone for a bit after my friend dropped me off at my hotel. I saw the valets shuffling around, and I smiled. That was my Uncle Joe’s profession, he worked in hospitality most of his life and he loved it.

“Look now, Uncle,” I whispered to myself. He used to asked me about the hotels I’d stay in for my travels so he could get ideas he could take back to his work (and that was why he won lots of associate of the year awards, he worked for the Marriott corporation).

“Look what I’m doing now.”. I felt soft inside and I felt my eyes moisten. I’m sure he’d be so proud of me and I’d tell him all about the conference, the sales reps, the nerds from who they extorted money, lunch, dinner, and the suite. All I had to pay for was the Uber ride to meet my friend, the employer paid for all else.

I was thoroughly exhausted by the trip, the info, and the schmoozing and headed up to my room that overlooked a parking structure. I didn’t care about getting a damn suite, but it was nice of the young man to give me (and then my boss) one.

I had nightmares about a former beau who’d never go away. The sons of a distant cousin got into a fight with him, but relished the fight even though the beau decisively kicked their asses, even with the age difference and being outnumbered by 2.

I’m on my way downstairs to schmooze over croissants and coffee. The hotel had a Lavazza machine in the room and I made myself a nice (coffee) colada and am looking at the parking ramp from the desk. It’s a cloudy day here, yet I saw the last sliver of the moon in the morning sky before the new moon later this week. I’m tired although I didn’t drink much, maybe it’s all the emotions.

I’m looking around and saying to myself, “hey, just enjoy this little ride for as how long or little it can last.”. I don’t know if these doors will stay open or snap shut, but I’ll breathe deeply and say I got to live it so far.

downwind | upstream