Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-11-19

Kel Maleh Rachamim - Prayer for the Soul of the Departed

I sent Avery the prayer :Kel Maleh Rachamim - Prayer for the Soul of the Departed. Although this family is not observant, I passed it along.

I found it and said it around 2016, when a former boss died suddenly. The prayer belonged tobhis faith and not mine, yet it was with respect for his presence in my life.

It felt like I got to hold his hand, like I would for my grandfather as an adult. It was a quiet but loving way we'd greet each other.

I felt like to got to do that with the boss one more kindly time and while he transitioned and I could say goodbye.

Maybe Avery will have that kind of comfort, I don't know. His brother was really struggling these past few months, and now that is done.

It's one of those spells again, perhaps.

downwind | upstream