Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-02-04

I just can't believe that something happened that gave me some faith in my building.

I am about to fucking faint. I don't know whether to laugh or to cry.

There were some projects that were so fucking stuck in the mud, or shall I say entombed in amber? I'm talking work projects. These projects were bad, just plain bad, and were such an embarrassment to a particular unit.

I was trained in this project rather extensively and kind of winced at the work I saw. I carefully gave suggestions based on what I learned and the standards I had seen, but were they ever considered? Hell no! Everything I said was considered a threat, I was an awful person for even suggesting that we follow things that everyone else did. I had no consideration for someone's creative processes (?) or flow (?). I had 2 heads, I gave suggestions after smoking meth, I dunno, my suggestions sure seemed to be received that way!

The worse thing was the people in charge of it never made changes or upgrades to their work. It was the same clunky crap that was useful say 5 or 10 years ago which no one used anymore. The goddamned project was badly neglected, but the moment a suggestion was made to make small updates, the heads of the projects nipped and snarled. How dare anyone tell them what to do? Well, I did because their work, which was viewed by others, made the rest of us look bad.

Ok, so maybe I sounded like a fucking know-it-all about these things, but I also suppose the purpose of the work I had done to build a better mousetrap was exactly for that!

So... a decision from the building grand pubah ether de-deputized the former heads of that project and assigned it to others. The former heads were super pissed. They weren't given a a notice although the building GPs gave them indirect recommendations for make changes for at least 2 1/2 years; I guess they also didn't want to listen to them.

After the reassignment, I wrote a letter to the new head of the project with suggestions that previously went ignored. I met personally with one of them to tell them what the fuck was wrong with the project since they had no idea about the previous heads' ineptitude and resistance.

Inside, I just whispered to myself, thankyou thankyouthankyou and thankyou thankyou to the deities or energy that made it possible.

I wished I saw the looks on the former heads of the project on the video conference with the new project managers. I bet they were fuming, but their cameras were off. While smoke drifted from their heads and ears, I laughed and cried silently to myself from behind my desk. The head and project mangers actually took some of my suggestions, and oh yeah, they were also trained in the tasks at hand. Credible people in charge of something in this building who delivered? Fancy that!

Oh, at last! A change! Is it really possible? Can things really change? Can the dynamic for many of our building's departments change? I'd describe it as one where the biggest fucking crybaby or the meanest and most ignorant prick gets to call the shots, and they usually aren't held accountable for what comes out of it.

I just can't believe that something happened that gave me some faith in my building.

downwind | upstream