Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-05-24

The last 36 hours

And then one of my niece's OD'd. Her mother got a call from the sheriff while we talked and it was oxycodone she had taken (and God knows what else in it). The cops were able to get her in time.

The niece is 16 years old and has been testy with sneaking around. I really don't know her story like we knew Arielle (a niece who we lost to violence almost 3 years ago). I suggested they have a hard talk about drugs and if she needs help, or there may not be a next time.


A kid shot up a school near San Antonio, killing more than a dozen kids and 4 adults. I feel bad but feel myself becoming numb like those who live in neighborhoods where this is common. I'm American, and everyone knows guns have more rights than people and protection than children.


I went to a conference and stayed the night in a neighborhood that was a strange mix of things. I woke up with anxiety this morning and my pushups gave me the will to do more. I then had breakfast in its cafe where some young adults watched a video of a preacher and then they talked about the prophet Hosea. The hotel was also an evangelical mission, and they were applying modern-day problems to scripture. The mission was only blocks from a beach and the 'hood was checkered with nightclubs that had signs with restrictions (no colors, no chain wallets, no backpack... bandanas... white shorts... we have the right not to serve intoxicated guests). I guess they hoped to bring some wayward souls in, and there I was.

And then my friend Carlo the German is getting hospice care. He didn't make a plan for anything. He refused hospice care until he had little choice because he was in very sorry shape and unable to do very basic tasks.

I'm kinda hating being in this position but at least with cancer, we know it's coming as opposed to something immediate.

It made me think that passing is never separate but a part of a person's whole life. Carlo's lack of actions wasn't different from a lot of lacks thereof throughout his life. The transition really is a other expression (though not quite voluntary) of a person's life. So now I'm in that hang-time zone, waiting for that ball to drop and wondering where it might


My beloved niece Bailey will be 12 tomorrow. She had a fever and we talked for an hour. Her sis was the one who OD'd.

I got notified on whether or not I got accepted for a training program. The only drag was I got the email but couldn't read the full message because I forgot the PIN. I call tomorrow during office hours to reset it.

This was the strangest 36 hours I've had. The other portal can open up in my bedroom, it already did in my living room last year. It just kind of rained down on me today.

downwind | upstream