Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-05-28

Plant medicine

I wanted to work with plant medicine again (huachuma, or aya) and considered it these past couple of days. I woke up slowly this morning with a very terse call from my in-person coven mate Mari. She invited me over to finish off the huachuma and didn't give me much of a window to get there. I drank the green froth, and laid on her sofa.

I didn't complain about the abrupt message from Mari. I understand things like this happen, and I had been wanting to do it again, so no complaints!

I asked the plant about matters of the heart. I actually wondered if I was destined to be alone. If anything, it told me to avoid repeats like a plague, and even Mari said as much soon after I woke from the journey. In this journey, it affirmed I did some very hard work on my heart, and suggested I examine the messages my step-father bequeathed to me and my younger siblings (his children). Oh, sure. We inherited many awful messages from years of living as his poorly kept secret. I guess I need to go deeper than affirming his actions were not our responsibility but how he made us feel and what he said or did.

I saw myself in a forest in a hilly area next to an RV with others, like in a camp. It was autumn, the mild setting felt so good to me and then Huck appeared from the RV. It was a happy time and we both were at ease. I'm sure that's one lovely wish (and then Mari blurted NO REPEATS! when I woke up). He held me and I could feel the passion rise and roll between us for a while, but I eventually saw myself in the camp alone. I was at a trailhead and looked behind me. Certainly that relationship took me into another place, and it was my thing to keep walking but on my own.

Walking is something that always comes up in my journeys. I am often walking through things, or am about to walk onto something. Journeying is like my own version of being Cain from Kung Fu Theater, and so a'walking I go.

I napped very peacefully on Mari's sofa and one of her red mini-dachshunds licked me while I laid down. Ah, those dogs are so much alike! Huachuma also sharpens my senses like crazy, I could hear traffic and other outside noises so acutely. It seems to do that to me before I fall asleep (and get a puppy kiss... hehehe, having dogs near while working with plant medicine is often a good thing).

I just very well may seek it again. We do cultivate a relationship with that medicine over time, and I'd say the were extremely positive for what I needed.

downwind | upstream