Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-06-10

Like a kid in a classroom full of chicken pox cases

My office neighbor tested positive for Covid. I sat next to him in a meeting yesterday for too long. I feel like a kid whose classmates got chicken pox, so they wait on their impending doom.

One of us wore a mask at the meeting. I was going to propose we meet remotely, but now I regret second-guessing myself. The meeting was on a project where some complete _______ (fill in the blank for a term of derision) sent us crap work for us to review, which went on way too long. After an ungodly amount of time was spent on the review, we had a serious gripe session and agreed the colleague acted completely unprofessional with sending us crap work. If we knew it was going to be so bad, we would had told them to redo it and get back to us when they felt like being real.

I also want to sucker-punch the neighbor because he was one of those anti-maskers and anti-vaxxers. But, his household caught it despite being immunized and then he did. It's likely one of his family caught it and spread it to him. I guess I want to sucker-punch him to release my repressed aggression.

We had only recommendations in place for what to do when a colleague tests positive.

I have a headache and I'm boogery, but then again my allergies have kicked in. I also got an ear infection after the conference I attended and my ear, nose and throat infections have a tendency to do their own version of a road show when they visit. I'll start with a throat infection that turns into a runny nose, or then goes to my ears, that kind of thing. I also feel a little crappy since there's still the deal about losing a longtime friend. I'll get a rapid test tomorrow, and see if I have to change my travel plans which were for this coming week.

downwind | upstream