Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-05-21

Snorkeling with the rolling swell

I checked the tide tables, high tide was just over an hour off and the winds were minimal. I figured it was going to be a perfect day to be in the water. We floated about 15 feet above both natural and artificial reefs while the swells rolled under us. The water felt chilly at first (unusual for this time of the year), but we felt warm as we swam away from the shore.

The region was known for its shore reefs. The natural reefs were the slates of anastasia limestone (ooh, look it up) and when flat on the ocean floor, looks like the moon’s surface. Some natural mounds of the rock were in an almost neat line parallel to the shore. Concrete blocks were also set around there to diminish the waves long ago, and coral grew around it.

The ocean moon rocks and faded color of the underwater gave it an untimely feeling, like time just didn’t apply down there or it had its own version. The fish and specks of live reef were the main sources of color, and even that had an unreal look to it. Everything looked gray down below, and it was easy for the eyes to play tricks on what was actually being seen.

Tropical fish in blues, orange, yellow, and gray swam around the rocks. Schools of them swam around and under the coral. As we floated, I pointed out the fish to Avery since he had never snorkeled at that reef. He swam behind me and in between us was the dive flag that bobbed around on a round, styrofoam buoy. Poor guy didn’t have an efficient kick, but he was determined to see it all.

I hadn’t been in the water since last fall. The shark migration season tends to be very active this time of the year. Av and I saw a nurse shark nestled between some reef. Its body flexed from side to side to move, with a long, tapering gray tail behind it. I tipped him off on those, they are docile but it’s always good to keep a distance from the sea life and not provoke them.

It felt so good to be free of gravity. The waves gently rolled below us, and at times I piked 20 feet to get closer to the reef and to look and swim around (ooh, there’s some motivation for me to get my ass back into the gym, so I can increase my lung capacity again, but I still did ok). The water became clearer, and I felt it cool off; it was high tide. It brings in fresh and clear currents of water.

The waves gently carried us back to shore. Although he went back just a little earlier than me and in a slightly different direction, we still got there at the same time. A tourist was on the shore recording the whole thing, with her phone pointed at us. I didn’t mind.

We got back to the car and of course, a line of cars waited for spots. It was one of few public beaches that had free parking. I warned him we’d have to get there before 9:00 a.m. or we’d be out of luck for parking. He got to see it for himself.

I told him one of the best parts of water sports is the meal afterward. He found a nice diner with great service. It was in my old neighborhood, where I used to live in the part of the fishing village closer to the water, but I had just never been to that particular place. They served a good cheese grits and shrimp, and gave us plenty of coffee.

We got to my place, and we dozed off on the sofa. The other best part is the tired but relaxed but happy feeling that often happens.

It was so nice to get back in the water again. It was so soothing, and there was something about going back to my old neighborhood. I felt like I was being given a warm hug.

I moved away from there just over 4 years ago. I’m not too far, but it still feels remote in many ways.

Many things in my life changed since then, but not the love of the water. If anything, I felt more love. Marley-dog and I had many walks along that shore, and it was often so therapeutic.

I wasn’t asking for relief when I was there this time. I was there to just enjoy it all once again, and perhaps even to share it for a while.

downwind | upstream