Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-07-31

Personal items for work, coven style

My coven had some chatter this weekend because some of the members wanted to do readings for each other. I volunteered to give 2 which the receivers really liked and said made perfect sense for them. One gave me a reading that also was spot-on.

Then, my sis Princ decided to try a form of energy work and was asking me questions. I gave her the information she wanted, and then it made me recall that I had the idea of having a little kit for myself for my incoming new/ temp position.

I made a list of things to put in my personal items desk drawer that included maintenance toiletries along with big jars of Tylenol and antacids. In that space is the Catholic Book of Prayers. I then decided to add a few things:

Chalcedony: helps with balancing doubt, finding peace, and balancing emotions; protection; speaking my truth. They say to touch my lip with it before a big speech.

Red Jasper: helps with grounding and with balance, stamina, courage and strength. Hold it in my hand and imagine being grounded.

Selenite: protection; clearing; forgiveness; connecting with the divine. Use it to clear things around my body and to clear the other crystals.

Aventurine (green): enhances leadership skill, releases anxiety; promote prosperity and unconditional love. It is heart shaped and put it in my pocket when going to a big meeting.

Black tourmaline: protection again bad vibes; stress release; neutralizes negativity. If I have an awful meeting in my office, put the black stone on my desk between me and the person.

and

St. Michael / white sage room spray: clear out the air and energy; St. Michael is said to be the archangel of protection and is an avenger. The likelihood is high I'll need all of that mojo.

I was tempted to go to the botanica on the other side of town and get a holy candle of St. Expedite. There's enough people in the department that will be hip to what that means.

It's not so much that I believe the crystals will protect me. It's more like remind me of what I'd like to see and to actualize, like a memory anchor. There can't be anything wrong with spraying sage (burning things isn't allowed). I used to burn its relative, clary sage, while I studied in the last year of college (and gee, it's probably not a bad idea for what I'm doing now, heheh).

I remember I had an issue with a passive aggressive colleague when I worked for the gigolo attorney. I could feel the daggers from her a lot of the time and I later learned she was mad because she thought the attorney was trying to push her out. A neighbor who was an herbalist would pick me yarrow when she had it and told me to put it next to my desk. It assured me that the colleague needed to handle her own matters rather than take it out on me. I later learned she was right; the lawyer wanted her out because she wasn't good with the clients and refused to learn new things in the dawning of the Windows era.

Of course I know I'll need to have the usual things like knowledge of the job, get on with people, don't be afraid of conflict yet manage it appropriately. Represent, don't break anything and play nice, shit like that. Be mindful that people did in fact want me to do this job cos they thought I could do it and liked my work (as opposed to winning a popularity contest).

downwind | upstream