Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-09-26

If what I give can help

Hmmm, I guess the temp job goes beyond my expectations. We've got a big mess to clean up and I'm a part of the cleaning and recovery crew.

Yeah, I got more news about the deeper levels of neglect and incompetence that existed in my building. I guess I wasn't exaggerating about the conditions of some things. I really wasn't and that is the scary part.

I finally blew past my fears about the job. The reason I got the ob was cos it was figured that I was good at tough tasks. Putting me in wouldn't be a big disruption at all. If anything, it reduced it a lot.

I may not ever win a damn popularity contest, but chances are I can bring myself and perhaps others to the other side of a situation.

I sigh inside. I think I can do this now that I know what is what. I was brought on to rebuild something. I'm totally fine to move on elsewhere once this mission is accomplished. I think that is when I can finally get hired and bid adieu to the building and hopefully on to genuinely brighter things.

The building has been rather crummy to me, yet it paid big rewards. Or maybe I was able to make the most of the shreds I got. After all, that is my specialty.


Avery's brother Erv is not well and Av who is an optimist thinks the brother is on his way out. He is calling Erv's friends since some are in the region. He tries to give his brothee information about the procedures they want to do to maybe prolong his life, but E's out of it half of the time.

I held Av and assured him that everything he did were the right things. He has stood by Erv for the past 3 years after he had a stroke at an unusually young age and made sure he had what he needed (their sister also helped). Erv was a longtime heavy user of cocaine and seemed to have other issues.

Av has been anxious. I soothe him but understand there's some things he will have to come to terms with. At least he has a space to rest, or cry. I have a sense about this and if what I give can help, I'm all for thst.

downwind | upstream