Cafe Hitch-hike

2024-02-06

Don't cheer on a revolution unless--

I vastly thank whatever powers that be for the current ruling that our former overlord does not have complete immunity from prosecution.

They said the assertion of the former president and his team "would collapse our system of separated powers by placing the President beyond the reach of all three Branches." The court also said, "We cannot accept former President’s claim that a President has unbounded authority to commit crimes that would neutralize the most fundamental check on executive power."

I felt sick to my stomach when I read that. It was because I felt terrified at how fragile things have been and the realization that we can also make the slide into an authoritarian state. These changes happened legally within their countries; there's plenty of books and articles about this.

I had friends from countries where they saw their version of a democracy be pulled from under their feet. Hell, a friend of mine was the first in his immediate family to leave his country at 13 years of age because his parents were terrified he'd be drafted as a soldier (it really was going on and not a rumor). I have friends from a country that used to be economically more stable and prosperous, and now it has a terrible economy, extremely high rates of crime, and people are literally leaving in droves.

So yeah, at least the un-supreem court has yet to overturn that order and all we Yanks can do is pray they don't.

One thing I've learned: people shouldn't cheer on a revolution (legal or not) unless they are 110% ready to embrace the ripple or tsunami effects they may have on their immediate lives. A revolution affects everyone and not only the powers that be. As much as we may beg for change, it can also be very painful and will make its way to upending us.

I'll be quiet. For now.

I just didn't realize how frightened I really felt over this.

downwind | upstream