Cafe Hitch-hike

2024-03-06

The burning building

I never knew how much this song would ring true when I played it on my way to work today. I told myself as I yodeled, "freedom!" that maybe I need to make a new playlist with that same title. It can be my soundtrack for whatever my next move, forced or planned, may be.


I dreamed I was in dancing in front of a burning building. I wore a burgundy, silver and gold outfit of a belly dancer, fitted just right on my tall, curvy, and somewhat potbellied form. I had a stately head dress wrapped under and over my dark, unbound hair. My shoulders, neck and head swayed, and my hips gyrated. I had zils on the fingertips of both of my hands. The orange light of the fire flickered on my torso and arms.

Spectators ran out of the building and then stood in front of it with grief or disbelief. I noticed them yet I continued to danced. I got sparked by an ember floating in the night air and brushed it off while I swayed side to side, and then continued into my next step.

Some people yelled or cried. Some where surprised and silent, but I spun, leaped, and tossed my hair around my head and from shoulder to shoulder. I danced to the rhythm from the crackling of the fire, the falling building parts, and the gasps of bystanders who were hypnotized by watching the incinerating building. I felt like something was moving me while I was making my own motions, maybe this force and I worked together. No one seemed to notice me although I danced right in front of and around them.

I heard windows pop and break from the heat and pressure, and that glass shattered once more when they hit the pavement around the building. I kicked a shard near my foot towards the building in a dance-step. The warm air circled around my body starting with my foot and wrapped around me, like a ever-turning embrace, and then I started to spin...

...I danced and spun away from the building through the crowd. They didn't seem to notice me but gradually parted as I danced near them. I did this until the glow of the building on fire was smaller in my view, and then faded.

I danced, spun and jumped in the air 3 times before landing on both feet. I was alone, standing still and upright. I softly shook my body one more time, brushed the ashes that stuck to my skin and clothes, and then walked away in the dark.

downwind | upstream