Cafe Hitch-hike

2021-06-23

This trip ain't over just yet

1. Summer season means construction in the Midwest. Even detours have detours.

2. I always thought Indiana was boring. Their people are lovely, but it is nondescript Americana.

3. I felt my energy downshift by 2 gears as I approached the hometown but maybe it was because of the accident that caused freeway traffic to stand still for a whole hour.

4. But, I used the time to feast my eyes on the soft green of the maples and elms, and roll down the window to breathe deeply and hear the birds.

5. Naturally, I went to the friendly cannabis shop cos it's legal.

6. The campsite: oh wow. The gathering of the siblings that could make it (4 out of 6 of us) was pretty close to being magical. My mom and assorted nephews/ a niece were also here. Although I got the ball rolling on this gathering, my sisters did more than contribute. They had a few things happen that could had kept them from coming, but they wanted so badly for this weekend to happen.

7. Campsite: I was freaking out... what if the magic of the place was cos my step father and his family were there, and it wouldn't be the same without them? What if they were sad about it being Father's Day and we were in his happy place without him? Well, it looks like those worries were unfounded. We simply made it our own and respectfully in his memory. The kids ran around and played with other kids, my sisters floated on the lake like it was a resort. Mom enjoyed herself and had her beer, and was quite manageable.

My sis Big Momma sent us a link to Reveille on the morning we were to meet. At night, she slumbered with her son and 2 nephews and played Taps. Everyone giggled in the dark as the trumpet played.

More to come. This trip ain't over just yet.

downwind | upstream