Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-01-08

On the job front

The first week was ok back in the building. It's such a weird feeling because I heard the whole organization got additional resignations over the holiday, and a lot of people were out with Covid infections, including a guy in my office suite. I wonder how many people left or got infected all together?

I scheduled some events and when I got with our building's PR who would help with promoting them, they were glad most of them were going to be online. I had one that will be in-person, and they told me to have a backup plan or be ready to cancel if we get any new restriction. So, I'm excited about one event because we will be screening a documentary followed by a discussion, and we have a license to do it. The topic is one I've known about and enjoyed as a kid, and 31 years later, I get to talk about it at my work! Yeah, I've shared my enthusiasm with my colleagues who probably wonder if I'm off meds or smoking meth.

We've been without a building boss, grand pubah, big cheese, whatever you want to call it. I guess our previous one was at the beginning of the Big Resignation wave. After ours resigned, I had this batshit idea to write a letter to their boss to give recommendations on the search because the last search went badly and resulted in our awful former GP. Lo and behold, I got some assistance from many in the building and we wrote a respectful letter. As it turned out, quite a bit of what we suggested in the letter was followed. Now, we just wait and pray the grand pubah gods are kind to our haunted building.

Then, I got wind of a nearby job opening. What the hell, I'll go for it and see what sticks. I've seen so many disasters take place when new GPs come into a building that I don't think I want to live through another. I have some plans and if I get this job, it will have to completely change them (hahaha), but I guess I'll take my chances.

I do put a lot in my career, but I guess I'm at a point where I look at the things I dreamed of accomplishing with where I am now. It definitely hasn't been shabby, but I'm paring back some of my previous goals. It's so un-American to not aspire higher, but I think it was a matter of looking at what I get out of it versus what I put in. It's better for me to invest in my friendships, relationships, and hobbies than my career. Yeah, let myself be a woman and not just be my professor or damn job (Gawd, 3 mentors told me as much)! Of course, I want to keep learning and trying out new things (and there's plenty of that in my profession), but I don't aspire to leadership anymore. Of course, a lot of that was from insecurity.

downwind | upstream