Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-03-10

Surgery's not fun.

The anesthesia whipped me and I was in terrible shape. They pushed me out of the hospital about 2 hours after I woke up. At least the surgeon observed me for a bit while I laid in the recovery bay feeling dulled and not really able to move or pee.

Right before I was fully awake, I guess I had a conversation with Julian, a professor I knew when I was an undergrad (but has been deceased, Julian is another story), I told the nurse I loved her and a Black orderly that he smelled great.

Rafael has been looking after me so dutifully and with care. He has been so loving and been by my side.

I guess I've been recovering with being able to walk slowly. I can squat, and my arms and legs seem strong and perfectly able to do what my lower core can't do. I've used my body weight as a lever so I can cough and position my body with little pain. The right hernia was bigger and is still swelling (the surgeon has been checking in on me, and assures me I'm recovering nicely). My belly is swollen like I'm preggers (now I can see what that would had looked like, except there's three little welts where the laprosopic arms went in). I'm still a little startled but yet grateful that my body seems to be cooperating. Go me for taking decent care of it these past near-49 years.

I can't eat as much but I guess that means I can start a diet, hah.

I watched Alita, about a cyborg. We joked maybe I got some cyborg parts in surgery. It was funny but then I cried in the bathroom because then I got scared.

As for surgery, I hope to God I don't have to go back forever.

downwind | upstream