Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-03-10

Like a crowdsurfing kid

It's definitely getting the well wishes of others that helped, but I also think it was me being able to say 'thank you' again and again, and feeling so grateful to feel the care around me. To be able to be receptive to it. To feel loved and people who really want to help.

I told my mentor last week it was comforting to realize I was not indestructible. I wasn't sure why I said it but now I think I do. It's humbling. There's also a strange sense of relief in knowing I can't call every shot or plan everything. It doesn't make full sense but I'm sure it will.

My immediate family has barely said a word to me and forgot I had surgery. I sarcastically said to my mother last night, who I could tell was inebriated, to not worry about me because I always figure it out and find a way because I'm a hero and it's what I do. Then again I said very little anticipating either their indifference or they would panic.

My cousin Fawn checked up on me. Neighbors and coworkers have. Even Detroit Chris and Donnie sent their care my way (one sent snacks, the other gave an IOU of coffee and donuts).

I thank the Universe over and over again for my friends and my chosen family because they've made all the difference. But yes, I'll hold on to Rafa and the rest of them for the many times they have carried me through like a crowdsurfing kid, or as my handle describes, the kind-of stray girl who hitch-hiked through much of her life.

downwind | upstream