Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-04-21

Road trips

So I finally get to have a personal vacation and our destination will be gusty all weekend. Instead of packing some sort of 2-piece bathing suit, shorts and sandals, it will be pants and sneakers. I unpacked the beach gear because there's no sense in being out there if we're getting 30 mph winds for most of the weekend.

But, it will be a getaway and there's non-aquatic things to do. Marley-dogs are welcomed at the property so she will get to be out and about. And, Rafa and I often find magical or funny things when we go places.

One time on a road trip, the temperature dropped to freezing and the heater fan in his vehicle only worked on a low setting. The windshield only had about a 3-inch square to see the road and the inside was freezing. I drove for about 4 hours in that. I had to go much slower than the speed limit thanks to the ice on the road, and I drove cos I had more experience with driving in those conditions (a bennie of growing up in a place with plenty of winter).

I guess all my travels since the pandemic were family ones. I also had to do a bit of legwork, and I really wanted a full weekend where I did very little of that (hahah). I love where we're going and have some nice memories there with good friends.

Quite a few things between us are a bit different than they were before, and I'm still not sure what to think. Maybe the trip will give perspective. I guess this is what happens when we are not so misty eyed toward each other anymore? Maybe this is where we both grow up? I guess I'll see cos taking a relationship past that point is a first for me.

downwind | upstream