Cafe Hitch-hike

2022-10-18

Politically expedient

I rarely do the politically expedient thing (and that is why I rarely win popularity contests, hahah). I also can be frank about things because if I'm not, it eventually bites me in the butt. So, I did a politically expedient thing. I didn't look at facts in front of me or go a way because the math precisely recommended something. I didn't decide with my conscious (although it's likely I would get my ass kicked if I did).

Noooo siree. I simply did the political thing. I did it because I figured if 2 out of 3 people say something's ok, then very well. It's a majority and it must be.

So this was a damned if I did or damned if I didn't kind of deal. Sometimes decisions are like that.

It's not that I pushed someone under the bus or betrayed someone. I'm not looking the other way withbhorrendous, illegal or harmful deeds. It's more like I didn't choose with my conscience (it's nice to know I still have one). If I have to explain my decision, that will be a funny thing. There are things I can say that can be construed as very true indeed, but I don't really agree with that truth. Like I said, I made the politically correct decision.

Gawd, I did this in a situation way back in college where I had to work with a guy that I knew really did the awful things that he was accused of doing but had a powerful ally who covered it all up. I had nothing to do with the investigation or wasn't involved with what happened at all, but got reliable intelligence about it. I was terrified of the guy but got through that next 9 months of working with him and made my exit as promptly as I could.

He gave me an award when I left that place and gave me a hug that was peculiarly sincere if not a touch fatherly. Maybe that was my reward for my silence and playing nice? When he saw me drive past his building a year later, he cheerfully called out my name and waved as I drove by. I hesitantly waved back. I never returned to that place for another 7 years, when I went to get some records and he went elsewhere.

These are facts of life. Sometimes we must do the politically correct or expedient thing to get through a something.

downwind | upstream