Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-03-22

Waters of March

Professor I(nsano) lightened up on us. He said he liked our midterm essays and went so far as to say he loved us at our last in-person meeting (for real!). He also cancelled 2 writing assignments but required we do the readings. We don't even have to meet for the rest of the course, we just submit the work online. He sent us a beautiful description of Nowruz (Persian New Year) with its 13,796 year history.

My final paper will be about dealing with uncertainty; I figured I should do it on a topic I'll need to work with (or better yet, live with like an arranged marriage). So far, the research says to work actively with most types but without the expectation that it can be controlled. However, it's imperative to accept the changes it brings. To not do so it like voluntarily ceasing to breathe. It's not a good idea to passively cope with it, according to just about all the research I've read so far.


Speaking of uncertainty, I was nominated to participate in a training program that a lot of movers and shakers took part in. I had to digest that. Maybe they just needed someone to fill in the gap, I thought, but it didn't last for long. I quietly cried to myself in my office. But, the thought came back.

I'll be meeting with our new big boss tomorrow. I'm not sure what to expect so I guess it means I should just have an open mind and have equanimity.


I met a practitioner who picked up where my (former) mentor left off. She understood some things so well that I cried even more from amazement that she did. I had a couple blocks I couldn't get around despite the best intentions of my mentor and I, and not even aya was able to touch it. It wasn't his fault at all, it was just a limitation that was there.

I'd like to thank Avery for suggesting it. He's more optimistic about things than I am and he had his own version of personal vertical climbs. His older sister, who's a survivor of Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, is also optimistic and absolutely lovely. They've shown me an interesting contrast to my own mindset.


Avery bought a karaoke machine. The only thing is the wireless microphones aren't the greatest, so I'm going to get a mic with a cord to see if it sounds better. It's at my house. When he wasn't there, I sang a couple of songs after work, and before I knew it, an hour went by. I surprisingly felt energized and refreshed when I was done. I sometimes will sing a song or 2 when I come home. I eventually told him this secret confession. He gave me a look that said, 'you did it while I wasn't there? Oh, why?' He's a tad bit (very) expressive, and his brown eyes seem to tell me everything.

He thought singing in his car or the shower would translate to karaoke. I honestly can say his singing voice resembles a bark but maybe that can improve? (Oh, that's not nice). I've been having less trouble with long Covid symptoms lately even though I had to struggle to sing at first. I wonder if the singing helped it?


I made some plans for some home improvements and upgrades. I can't wait for them to start but I'm waiting on Fonseca the contractor. Then, I'm going to do more work with lights, outlets and switches, especially in the kitchen which gets too hot from the current lighting combined with the stove. I might as well do these things before I have to replace things like air conditioners or big appliances because things tend to break all at once.

Carlo's Kitchen (what I call it, since he's part of what made it happen) is a favorite gathering place in my house. When visitors come, they like to stand around and in it because it's cozy, bright, and inviting. But, it gets really hot when I cook!

I finally sold the 16-year old wood dinner table I bought way back in Gulf Bluff at a local closeout store. I would had never guessed it would last that long. The buyer was surprised I was only charging $25 for it, but it was time to retire it. I bought another wood dinner table. It's very pretty and since it came without chairs, Av recommended some upholstered ones (he's good at decorating).


The wonderful hometown funeral home just announced the passing of Mr. Truszkowski, our driver's education and physical education teacher. I posted well-wishes for his family as he had 8 kids (5 natural, 3 adopted). His family requested in lieu of flowers, donations could be sent to the local Alcoholics Anonymous chapter, and I very well may do that in his name. I guess it happens to more people than we think.

Mr. T. looked like Kenny Rogers, the singer, and was funny and easygoing (at least with the females, I don't know how he was with the males, hahahah). Everyone had their funerals at one of 3 in the hometown. There's something strangely comforting about that.


Happy spring, Vernal Equinox, Oester, or holiday it is for you.

downwind | upstream