Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-04-22

Juggling plates and making something nice.

I should call myself Ms. Insano. I signed up for another class with that professor. I wanted to sign up for one with Professor Paolo*, a cheerful South American guy who took over the class I took in the fall, but it was full. In Prof. I’s recent message to the class, he was offering one and promised the assignments would be leaner. I signed up for it because we would only meet once a month and none of the in-person dates would be while I was gone.

(*Prof. P: He wanted a potluck for the last session of class, so my colleague Claudette brought chicken patties and I made yellow rice with pigeon peas. The prof and the guest speaker found bowls to take most of the leftovers home, hehehe).

I’m wrapping up Prof Insano’s class, and now I’m so glad I’m took it for the interim middle grand pubah role I’ll take. I can and will use every single thing and assignment we were taught.


Fonseca is working on my closets. He even offered to scrape the popcorn ceiling (a given in houses built in the American southeast in the 1980s, mainly to hide imperfections). He really wasn’t sure about my plan for the open walk-in closet but I assured him it was what I wanted. He’s also doing my awful pantry with nice cabinetry that’s adjustable so I can have big shelves (for my liquor, bahahah) and smaller ones as needed.

The master bedroom closet is walk-in, like a hallway with 2 sliding door closets on both sides before it gets to a small master bath (small in US terms, the norm in most of Europe). I removed one of the sliding doors to open it up and so it will be an open walk-in closet with something like this.. The closet has been a terrible eyesore.

I dunno, I often poured my creativity in my homes (or rooms or personal spaces). As I looked at how open the walk-in closet looked, I joked to myself about the other ways the space could had been used (meth lab, sex room, dungeon, indoor tanning salon, bahahah, my bad). No, noooooo, the space will not be used for those purposes. This is just another one of my ideas I get to try out.

Then, sometime last month, Avery got me a cornice for a big window through some guys he knows. I picked out the fabric and he liked it (he has good taste, or maybe ours were compatible). It really made the living room look like a cozy den.


Artiste, that is me! I don’t paint and don’t draw like I used to, but I still write. I guess this is my outlet for adding beauty and perhaps order to the world. It also feels kind of nice that I can afford everything since I haven’t spent any money since I started grad school (oops, the cat is out of the bag, I’m working towards a masters for a million and one reasons). I feel good that the plates I’m juggling are staying in the air, and making something nice while I’m at it (emphasis on the last part, an acknowledgement of the first).

downwind | upstream