Cafe Hitch-hike

2023-09-03

Living life, not writing about it

I haven't been here much lately. Living life instead of writing about it. I'm also reading and writing stuff (my class) and also doing stuff, lots of stuff (my temporary job assignment).

I already love the class. It's not with Dr. Insano, but another guy I had last year and made my Puerto Rican rice for our last class. Note: make it again for any reason possible in that class for the A :D

The job assignment: 'courage' is my mantra. I see why I was picked for the job for additional reasons (good ones, I can say).

Instead, I'll write about something different from all of that:

I got some English candies for my birthday. I remember their Crunchie but maybe it was named something else? I ate a ___ Crumble which is honeycomb coated with chocolate. I've gradually munched away on them since I got them.

Back in the 90s, Toblerones were the rage. Every time someone traveled abroad, they'd be asked, "get me a Toblerone!" I had them a couple of times, and for the second time, I didn't care. They tasted like chocolate-flavored wax but I liked the almond.

I'd usually get Cadbury chocolates when visiting Canada cos they were a little different. We don't see Cadbury as much in the States, though it can be found.

I was introduced to Cocosette and Toronto, 2 candies from Venezuela. The first is like a hazelnut and coconut wafer and the second, if I remember correctly, was a nut sounded by a filling and a chocolate coating. A friend from there asked me not to eat Torontos. He said one of their presidents entered office of average weight, and when his term ended, he was very fat and was known for eating a lot of Torontos. Cocosettes were fine, he came back from a trip with a box and I was able to get a couple of them.

I had a sweet memory of Cocosettes. I went to see a friend and I stopped at a gas station to get a soda beforehand. The Cocosettes were next to the cash register and I grabbed one. The older attendant scanned it and said in Spanish, kind of in a fatherly way with some jest, "I cannot sell you this until you speak to me in Spanish. How are you?" I was bashful when I introduced myself (I'm not particularly confident with the language), and we had a gentle laugh.

When I worked in Edgewhere, my friend gave me a sucker shaped like a chicken (like the ones found in the store for purchase). It was coated with paprika, salt, a little pepper, and some lime. The chicken itself was orange. I actually liked it although it was different. I guess a lot of those kinds of candies are actually spicy rather than sweet. I remember in Mexico that the candy counters had chili powders in little containers so people could dip their lollipops and suck the spices off it.

I had another chicken one on hand, and gave it to a friend who liked trying new things. I had seen her a week later with another one.


(From the distant past) I liked the guy quite a bit. Although he was a little shy, his eagerness was obvious when we sat in his car. He had a certain look in his eye that was the classic male green light. It took me a moment to digest it since it had been a while since I had been on a date. We leaned towards each other.

It was easier to kiss him than I thought it would be. It was surprisingly warm and joyful. I felt from his end that he had been waiting for it. I didn't expect to feel light or breezy, if not happy, from that kiss or from what I sensed. Although I leaned back, it was easy to lean right back in for another and a few more.

We leaned back to our seats and giggled a little. It was nice way to end that evening.

Well, my concert friend Tex and I are gonna attempt to go to another concert at the same venue we attended over a month ago. Hopefully we won't have lightening, and maybe the temperature will be in the 80s rather than with a heat index of 100 (we are breathing sighs of relief, the temps are finally getting reasonable and we can go outside without roasting).


Last Sunday was gorgeous. I woke up early and just so happened to check the tide table and marine reports. OMG, it was perfect for paddleboarding! I dashed to the park early, before the crazy-ass boaters who get too much beer, sun and heat. It was the perfect remedy for the visit to court. It was peacefully quiet, and I paddled near pretty homes along the waterway. My thoughts were also still, and I stopped in a shallow cove where I laid on the board and looked at the sky and clouds drift west. I could smell toast from a nearby house and some voices of breakfast conversation.

In the east distance, I saw darkening clouds and I felt a slight coolness in the air. I laid for a bit more, and then paddled back to shore. I jumped into the ocean water for a bit, floated on my back, and then showered.

The moment I closed the door of my car, the darker cloud I had seen brought us a steady rain. Perfect timing. I went to a restaurant in my old neighborhood in the fishing village, and thanked life for that beautiful morning.


Now, I must read stuff... Onward!

downwind | upstream